Former North Carolina Fire Departments Database

Last updated April 8, 2017


This page is a catalog of former fire departments in North Carolina. The criteria for inclusion: (a.) any fire department no longer operating or (b.) any fire department operating with a new name. Contact Mike Legeros to contribute or correct information.

Click a column heading to sort.

County City Department Disposition Started Ended  

Notes

Alamance Swepsonville 54 East Merged with Swepsonville FD 79-82 > 1985   54 East FD appears in NCSFA rosters (1983 to 1985) and at least one DOI directory (1982). No SOS data. Presently serves as substation / Station 2 for Swepsonville FD. Source: OH.
Alamance Snow Camp 87 South Merged with Eli Whitney FD 1985 2005   87 South FD operated from 1985 to 2005 and merged with Eli Whitney FD in 2005. Incorporation filing recorded Nov. 6, 1985. Dissolution filing recorded Sep. 1, 2005. Source: SOS, OH.
Alamance Elon Boone Station Disbanded 1975 1978   In 1975, members of the volunteer Elon College FD created the Elon Rural FD (also called Elon College Rural FD), as a service for rural residents. This resulted in a rivalry and conflict between the two parties, as well as with the town. ERFD changed its name to Boone Station FD in 1976, which is one of the thirteen townships in Alamance County. Their fire station was located on Gibsonsville Road, just outside the town limits. They utilized a converted service station, and had an older pumper and an older tanker. Elon Rural Fire District Inc. as incorporated on June 20, 1975. The corporate was renamed Boone Station Fire Protection Association Inc. on May 28, 1976. Source: SOS. See also this blog posting.
Alamance Burlington Burlington #2 Merged with Burlington FD? 1924 > 1924   Burlington Fire Department Number Two organized Mar. 14, 1924 to protect the East Webb and Midway area of Burlington. Led by Capt. Hobart T. Steel, the company occupied a firehouse at the corner of East Webb and Cameron. In Oct. 1924, the company received a new American LaFrance pumper. BFD 2 incorporation filing recorded Feb. 24, 1925, and disillusion filing recorded Mar. 9, 1993. BFD 2 does not appear on Sanborn Maps of 1924, 1929, 1948, 1952. Source: SOS, BFD page.
Alamance Mebane East Alamance   79-82 82-87   East Alamance FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982). EAFD does not appear in NCSFA rosters. No SOS data.
Alamance Elon Elon College Renamed Elon FD 1925 2001   Elon College FD, organized in 1925, was renamed EFD in 2001, when Elon College became Elon University, and the Town of Elon College became the Town of Elon. Source: EU page, OH.
Alamance Elon Elon Rural Renamed as Boone Station FD 1975 1976   See Boone Station FD.
Alexander Stony Point East Alexander   79-82 82-87   East Alexander FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982). EAFD does not appear in NCSFA rosters. No SOS data.
Alexander Taylorsville Taylorsville   By 1924 > 1995   Taylorsville FD is shown on Sanborn Maps of 1924. TFD appears in NCSFA rosters (1930 to 1995), and at least one DOI directory (1987). No SOS data.
Alleghany Sparta Sparta Became Sparta-Alleghany FD? By 1972 > 1994   Sparta FD appears in NCSFA directories from 1950 to 1994. SFD appears in at least three DOI directories (1972, 1982, 1987). Sparta-Alleghany FD appears in the DOI directory of 1979 and the NCSFA directory of 1995.
Anson Polkton Polkton   By 1972 > 1987   Polkton FD appears in at least three DOI directories (1972, 1982, 1987). PFD does not appear in the DOI directory of 1979, nor NCSFA rosters. No SOS data.
Avery Newland Center Avery   79-82 82-87   Center Avery FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982). CAFD does not appear in NCSFA rosters. No SOS data.
Beaufort Edwards Edwards Merged with Aurora/Richlands Township FD 79-82 82-87   Edwards FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982). EFD does not appear in NCSFA rosters. No SOS data. EFD presently operates as a substation of Aurora/Richlands Township FD. Source: OH.
Beaufort Plymouth Long Acre   1977 > 1991   The Long Acre FD incorporation filing recorded Jan. 6, 1977. LAFD appears in NCSFA rosters (1982 to 1991), and at least two DOI directories (1982, 1987). Source: SOS.
Beaufort Washington Washington Public Safety Disbanded 1996 1998 Public Safety Washington Public Safety was a combined fire and police department that operated from 1996 to 1998. WPS disbanded in 1998, when the city separated its fire and police departments. Source: WFD.
Bertie Aulander Aulander Disbanded 1957 1988   Aulander FD incorporation filing recorded Nov. 18, 1957. AFD disillusion filing recorded Aug. 16, 1988. Source: SOS.
Brunswick Holden Beach Holden Beach Dissolved 1968 1997   Holden Beach Volunteer Fire Department incorporation filing recorded Feb. 21 1968, and disillusion filing recorded Aug. 29, 1997. HBFD does not appear in NCSFA rosters for any years, or DOI directories of 1972, 1979, 1982, 1987. Source: SOS.
Brunswick Long Beach Long Beach Renamed Oak Island FD By 1976 1999   Long Beach FD appears in NCSFA rosters (1976 to 1995), and at least two DOI directories (1979, 1982). LBFD was renamed Oak Island FD, after the towns of Long Beach and Yaupon Beach merged to create the town of Oak Island on July 1, 1999. Source: OH, SOS, Star-News, 01JUL99.
Brunswick Sunset Beach Sunset Beach Volunteer Disbanded 1972 1997   Sunset Beach Volunteer FD incorporation filing recorded June 2, 1972. SBVFD disillusion filing recorded Sep. 3, 1997. The disillusion was authorized by the corporation on May 28, 1997. The articles were filed on July 31, 1997. Asset were transferred to the town, for use in a municipal fire department. Source: SOS.
Brunswick Winnebow Town Creek   By 1972 79-82   Town Creek FD appears in at least two DOI directories (1972, 1979). TCFD does not appear in NCSFA rosters. No SOS data.
Buncombe Black Mountain Amcel Propulsion Company Disbanded 1960 > 1965 Factory The Amcel Propulsion Company was located on ten acres on Old Bee Tree Road in Swannanoa. They manufactured rocket fuel. The fire brigade was organized in 1960 with day-shift maintenance personnel. By 1965, they had thirty-five members from all three shifts. They operated a 1942 International/American LaFrance 500/150, painted green, that originally served Scottdale, PA. Manufacturing operations at the plant ended in 1994. Source: Asheville Citizen Times, 22APR65. See also this blog post.
Buncombe Black Mountain Beacon Disbanded 1925 c. 1976 Factory Beacon Manufacturing Company maintained a small company fire department beginning in 1925. BFD protected both the plant and homes built for employees. The remainder of the area was protected by Black Mountain FD. They helped organize the Swannanoa Fire Department in 1959. They operated until about 1976, the year they donated their only fire truck to Swannanoa FD. BFD does not appear in NCSFA rosters, however, SFD appears in NCSFA rosters (1940 to present) and at least four DOI directories (1972, 1979, 1982, 1987). Source: Asheville Citizen, 17MAY59; Firefighting in Buncombe County.
Buncombe Asheville Biltmore Estate Disbanded 1895 1903 Residence George Vanderbilt's Biltmore Estate was completed in 1895. The house and the estate were equipped with a variety of fire protection equipment, including fire buckets, fire extinguishers, hand‐pulled and later motorized fire apparatus, a fire hydrant system with hose, and a fire alarm system. Until the organization of the Biltmore Fire Department in 1903, which was based in the village, the estate relied upon staff for fire suppression as well as the “city” fire department. Source: MJL page
Buncombe Asheville Biltmore Forest Disbanded 1923 1995   Biltmore Forest, located south of Biltmore Village, was created in the early 1920s as a planned residential community. It was chartered in 1923 and the town services included a fire department equipped with a fire engine built on a Packard chassis. The combination fire and police station was located on Vanderbilt Avenue. By 1935, BFFD consisted of five paid men and 20 volunteers operating an American LaFrance pumper. In later years two engines were operating, one for paid personnel and one for volunteers. BFFD ceased operation in 1995. AFD and later Skyland FD has provided contracted fire protection. Source: MJL page
Buncombe Asheville Biltmore Village Disbanded 1903 1929   Biltmore Village was created in the late 1890s as a model rental community to the nearby Biltmore Estate. BFD was established in 1903 and served both the village and the estate. It operated both hand‐pulled and motorized apparatus. The village was equipped with fire hydrants, as well as a dedicated fire station building.Following the devastating July 1916 flood, the village was sold in 1920. BFD remained in operation, later obtaining a 1926 Ahrens Fox pumper and relocating to a larger engine house behind the Biltmore Office building. In 1929, BFD disbanded after the city assumed fire protection and took ownership of the Ahrens Fox pumper. Source: MJL page
Buncombe Candler Candler Chartered, But Never Organized 1961 1961   Candler Volunteer Fire Department incorporation filing recorded Mar. 22, 1961. The formation of CFD was also reported in the Asheville Citizen, 14FEB61. Though organized as a community effort and incorporated as a legal entity, it never organized into a functioning department. Sources: SOS, Asheville Citizen, Firefighting in Buncombe County.
Buncombe Candler Enka Disbanded 1926 c1991 Factory Enka FD operated since 1926 and protected the American Enka Corporate plant and the surrounding community. In 1987, the plant was sold and the fire department was no longer available for community protection. The plant fire department continued operation with a smaller number of personnel and equipment for about four more years. The fire station was located behind the guard house, directly inside the plant gate. To replace the department, the community established a tax base, elected a board, and organized the Enka-Candler FD. Source: ECFD page, Firefighting in Buncombe County, OH.
Buncombe Asheville Haw Creek Merged with Asheville FD 1962 2009   Haw Creek FD was organized in 1962 to protect unincorporated areas outside northeast Asheville. On July 1, 2009, the department merged with Asheville FD. The district was split between Asheville and Reems Creek. The station and two apparatus were transferred to AFD. Another apparatus was transferred to RCFD. The fourth apparatus was sold. Asheville FD operates the old station as Asheville Station 12.
Buncombe Asheville Kenilworth Disbanded 1891 1929   Kenilworth FD protected the Kenilworth community of Asheville, an independent city from 1891 to 1929. KFD was located in 1925 in the 700 block of Caledonia Road, in a garage building. The town population that year was 300. The volunteer KFD had a Knox auto truck, 1500 feet of 2 1/2-inch hose, and received alarms by telephone. KFD appears in NCSFA rosters from 1923 to 1930. The town was annexed on May 1, 1929. The fire department had outstanding debt of a $5,250 note. Source: Sanborn Maps, Firefighting in Buncombe County
Buncombe Candler Mt. Pisgah Academy Disbanded 1952 1964 School Mt. Pisgah Academy FD was organized in 1952, with facility and students serving as members. In 1959, they had one truck and were led by Fire Chief L. C. Rilea, and Asst. Chief C. E. Davis. Their fire district was the same as the four-mile district served under country contract by the American Enka Corporation FD. Source: Asheville Citizen, 17MAY59; Firefighting in Buncombe County.
Buncombe Weaverville North Buncombe Disbanded 1976 1999   North Buncombe Volunteer Fire Department was organized in 1976 to protect unincorporated areas outside Weaverville. Articles of incorporation were filed on July 8, 1976. NBFD equipment was housed in the WFD station, and the departments shared the same volunteers. NBFD was dissolved in 1999, and WFD assumed protection of the fire tax district. Articles of dissolution were filed on April 14, 1999. The date of authorized dissolution was March 16, 1999. All assets of the corporation were transferred to the town, including equipment and inventory. Alternate disbanding date of 2000. Source: Asheville Citizen-Times, 02MAR99, SOS, Firefighting in Buncombe County.
Buncombe Asheville NC Juvenile Education Center       Institution Operated fire department in early 1960s. Source: Firefighting in Buncombe County.
Buncombe Asheville Oteen Disbanded Circa 1918 1976 Hospital In 1918, US Army Army General Hospital No. 19 opened in Asheville to serve the soldiers in the area who were training for duty for the First World War. The hospital was later named the Oteen Veterans Administration Hospital. The campus and its many buildings were protected by a fire department that was motorized by 1922. Early apparatus included a 1918 American LaFrance Type 75 triple-combination sold to Meridan, MS, in 1935. Source: NCSFA, NPS web page, Oteen brochure 1922, ALF records. More information from Legeros.
Buncombe Asheville Ridgecrest Conference Center Disbanded     Institution In 1907, the Southern Baptist Assembly purchased 940 access in an area originally called Terrell. The name was changed to Blue Mont, to fit the surroundings. This name presented a problem for the railroad, as their codes for this and nearby Black Mountain were the same. The name was changed in 1912 to Ridgecrest. The first buildings opened as places of assembly in 1909. The facility had staff-operated fire apparatus, in the later decades and maybe earlier. Sources: Firefighting in Buncombe County, RCC web site.
Buncombe Asheville West Asheville Merged with Asheville FD 1914 1917   In Dec. 1914, two hand hose companies organized in the town of West Asheville. By Nov. 1917, the fire department consisted of two fire companies. One had 11 volunteers with two hose reels and 1100 feet of 2 1/2-inch hose. The other, colored company of 10 members, had a hose reel and 600 feet of 2 1/2-inch hose. After the town merged with the city in 1917, fire protection was assumed by the Asheville Fire Department. Source: Sanborn.
Buncombe Swannanoa Moore Hospital   1942 1960? Hospital US Army hospital with two-bay fire station on site. Ground was broken in April 1942, on the grounds of the old Mountain Experiment Station of the State Test Farm. First patient admitted in December 1942. Buildings had sprinklers and were connected to the fire station using an American District Telegraph alarm system. In November 1946, the VA took operation of the hospital and 1,600 patients. The hospital had been a tuberculosis center for several months, before the transfer. The hospital operated as an annex of Oteen Veteran's Hospital. Transferred to state in 1960. See below. Source: Firefighting in Buncombe County.
Buncombe Swannanoa Juvenile Evaluation Center   1960c 1960s? Hospital Moore General Hospital was transferred to the state in September 1960, and became the Juvenile Evaluation Center. They had a fire department in the early 1960s. In June 1967, a new hospital was completed on the grounds, and the old hospital buildings were sold, except for one 125 unit. The JEC FD moved into another building, a former spray-paint shop located next to the laundry building. This was the hospital/center fire department's third location. Source: Firefighting in Buncombe County.
Burke Morganton Broughton Hospital Disbanded 1900s 1970s Hospital Broughton Hospital FD dates to the turn of the century. The State Hospital in Morganton operated volunteer fire brigade for several decades. Sanborn Maps from 1910 list the fire department as 15 men, both students and employees. Sanborn Maps from 1924 and 1931 list apparatus as 2 hand hose carts, hand hook & ladder truck, and an American LaFrance pumper, 750 GPM. Sanborn Maps from 1950 list an American LaFrance pumper, 750 GPM, 40 gallon chemical tank, 1,500 feet 2 1/2-inch hose, 200-feet 3/4-inch hose. BHFD facilities included a two-bay station on Security Lane (present name) from circa 1950s, until the department disbanded in the 1970s. The hospital was subsequently protected by Morganton FD. Source: OH.
Burke Morganton Carbon City Merged with Morganton FD 1970 1972   Carbon City FD was organized in 1970, incorporation documents filed on Apr. 20, 1970, and merged with Morganton FD in 1972 after annexation of most of their territory. Became MFD Station 2, but was still named Carbon City station. CCFD members retained as volunteers with MFD, all assets and debts transferred to city. Remaining territory was protected by MFD, with a fire tax levied at property owners. Appears in at least two DOI directories (1972, 1982). Does not appear in the DOI directory of 1979, nor in NCSFA rosters. Source: SOS.
Burke Drexel Drexel Industries   By 1975 > 1975 Industrial Plant fire department.
Burke Connelly Springs Hildebran Alt name George Hildebran FD 1970 > 1982   Hildebran FD appears in at least two DOI directories (1972, 1982). HFD is not listed in NCSFA rosters. GHFD appears in the DOI directory of 1979, and first appears in NCSFA rosters in 1982. The corporation was incorporated as George Hildebran Community Improvement Association Inc. The corporation name was changed in 2004 to George Hildebran Fire and Rescue Department Inc.
Burke Rutherford College Rutherford College Alt name for Lovelady FD? By 1959 > 1960   Rutherford College FD appears in NCSFA rosters for the years 1959 and 1960. No SOS data. Alternate name for Lovelady FD?
Burke Morganton West Burke Renamed West End FD? 79-82 82-87   West Burke FD appears in the DOI directory of 1982, with a mailing address "care of West End FD." WBFD does not appear in NCSFA rosters. No SOS data.
Cabarrus Concord Jackson Park Disbanded 1954 2011   Jackson Park FD, which operated from 1954 to 2011, ceased operation on June 30, 2011. The county decided not to renew the department's contract, and requested that the Concord FD take over the department's district. Sources: SOS, Independent Tribune, 19JUN11.
Cabarrus Kannapolis Cannon Mills Alt name for Kannapolis FD       See Kannapolis (Village).
Cabarrus Kannapolis Fieldcrest-Cannon Renamed Pillowtex-Cannon FD 1984 1997 Industrial The Fieldcrest-Cannon FD was renamed from Kannapolis FD, after a newly created municipal Kannapolis FD assumed fire protection duties for the newly incorporated city in 1987. The fire department retained protection of the industrial plant, and also provided mutual aid to the city. FCFD was presumably renamed Pillowtex-Cannon FD when the industrial plant was sold to Pillowtex Corporation in Sep. 1997. Source: Wiki page. See Legeros web page.
Cabarrus Kannapolis Kannapolis Sanitary District Merged with Kannapolis FD 1963 1987   The Kannapolis Sanitary District was created to provide water, sewer, and fire services outside the mill village of Kannapolis. Two stations were located at 933 Floyd Street and 819 Richard Avenue. On July 1, 1987, KSDFD merged with Royal Oaks Sanitary District FD to create a municipal Kannapolis FD. The Floyd Street station became KFD #1 and the Richard Avenue Station became KFD #2. The district served 9,150 customers at the time of the merger. Source: Charlotte Observer, 07JUN87, 23JUL87; Kannapolis Independent, 23AUG87; KFD; OH. See Legeros web page.
Cabarrus Kannapolis Kannapolis (Village) Renamed Fieldcrest-Cannon FD By 1920 1987 Industrial Kannapolis FD protected Cannon Mills and the unincorporated mill village of Kannapolis from at least 1920 until 1987, and from a two-bay fire station located at 222 S. Main Street. By July 1, 1987, a newly organized municipal Kannapolis FD assumed fire protection responsibility for the newly incorporated city of Kannapolis. The prior Kannapolis FD retained responsibility for the Fieldcrest-Cannon plant, and was renamed Fieldcrest-Cannon FD. They also likely contributed personnel and equipment to the newly created municipal department. NCSFA rosters list KFD (at least 1920 to 1977), KVFD (1977 to 1986), and KFD (1987 to present). KVFD appears in at least two DOI directories (1979, 1982). Sources: Kannapolis Independent, 23AUG87. See Legeros web page.
Cabarrus Kannapolis Pillowtex-Cannon Disbanded 1997 2003 Industrial Pillowtex-Cannon FD was renamed from Fieldcrest-Cannon and protected an industrial plant from 1997 until it closed in 2003. Source: OH. See Legeros web page.
Cabarrus Concord Pitts Assets merged with Concord FD 1971 1991   Pitts FD operated from 1971 to 1991 and merged with the Concord FD to become CFD Station 5. Located at 170 Pitts School Road, the station was renovated and expanded as a result of an agreement between the PFD Board of Directors and the City of Concord. They agreed the Pitts Fire District would be protected by the Concord Department of Fire & Life Safety, and that all equipment, vehicles, and structures owned by the Pitts Fire District be given to the City of Concord. Source: CFD page
Cabarrus Concord Poplar Tent Disbanded 1962 2003   Popular Tent VFD Inc. incorporation filed on Dec. 3, 1962. Disillusion filed on Dec 8, 2003. Department disbanded after annexations of their fire district by the City of Concord. Source: OH, SOS
Cabarrus Concord Rimertown District/alt. name for Rimer FD? By 1972 > 1987   Rimertown FD appears in at least three DOI directories (1972, 1982, 1987). Rimer FD appears in the DOI directory of 1979. NCSFA rosters, however, list Rimer FD from 1975 to present.
Cabarrus Harrisburg Harrisburg Volunteer Disbanded, merged into town FD 1954 2010   Harrisburg Volunteer FD, which operated from 1954 to 2010, merged with the town to create a municipal Harrisburg FD. Incorporation filing recorded Feb. 5, 1954. Disillusion filing recorded Aug. 17, 2010. Source: SOS.
Cabarrus Kannapolis Royal Oaks Merged with Kannapolis FD 1957 1987   The Royal Oaks Sanitary District was created to provide water, sewer, and fire services outside the mill village of Kannapolis. On July 1, 1987, ROSDFD merged with Kannapolis Sanitary District FD to create a municipal Kannapolis Fire Department. The station was located at 2209 Florida Avenue and became KFD Station 3. The district served 650 customers at the time of the merger. Sources: Charlotte Observer, 07JUN87, 23JUL87; Kannapolis Independent, 23AUG87; KFD; OH.
Cabarrus Kannapolis, Concord Winecoff Merged with Kannapolis FD 1955 1999   Winecoff Volunteer Fire Department, which operated from 1955 to 1999, merged with Kannapolis FD after annexation of their fire district. The station was located at 328 Stewart Street and became KFD Station 4. Incorporation filed Jan 31, 1955. Disillusion filed Nov. 14, 2000. Source: Charlotte Observer, 11JUL99; OH, SOS.
Caldwell Hickory Bethlehem   79-82 82-87   Bethlehem FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982). BFD does not appear in NCSFA rosters. No SOS data.
Camden Camden Camden Alternate name for South Camden FD By 1972 82-87   Camden FD appears in at least three DOI directories (1972, 1979, 1982). Also know as Camden-Shiloh FD, as listed in at least one DOI directory (1982). Appears to be alternate name for South Camden FD, which was incorporated on June 15, 1961. Source: SOS, OH.
Carteret Salter Path Bogue Banks Renamed Salter Path FD 1967 1981   See Salter Path FD.
Carteret Cape Carteret Cape Carteret Renamed Western Carteret FD 1966 2005   Cape Carteret FD, which operated from 1966 to 2005, was renamed Western Carteret FD. Incorporation filed May 23, 1966. Name change filed July 20, 2005. Source: OH, SOS.
Carteret Morehead City Navy Section Facility   By 1943 > 1943 Military The fire department of the Navy Section Facility in Morehead City is mentioned in newspaper articles in 1943.
Carteret Swansboro Cedar Point   By 1972 82-87   Cedar Point FD appears in at least three DOI directories (1972, 1979, 1982). CPFD does not appear in NCSFA rosters. No SOS data.
Carteret Salter Path Salter Path Merged with Indian Beach FD 1981 2008   Organizational history:
- Salter Path Rescue Squad (1965-1967), incorporation filed Sep 22, 1965.
- Changed name to Bogue Banks FD (1967-1981), as filed on Dec. 29, 1967.
- Changed name to Salter Path Fire-Rescue (1981-2008), as filed on Feb. 19, 1981.
- Merged with Indian Beach FD in 2008.
- Disillusion filed on Jul 16, 2008.
Source: SOS.
Caswell Burlington Anderson Community   79-82 82-87   Anderson Community FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982). No SOS data.
Caswell Yanceyville Southwest Central   79-82 82-87   Southwest Central FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982). No SOS data.
Caswell Yanceyville Yanceyville Sanitary   79-82 82-87   Yanceyville Sanitary FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982). No SOS data.
Catawba Claremont Catfish District/alt. name for Oxford FD N/A N/A   Catfish FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982). NCSFA rosters list "Oxford (Catfish)" as a name for Oxford Rural FD from 1983 to 1995. No SOS data.
Catawba Hickory Fairbrook Merged with Hickory FD 1958 1988   Fairbrook FD operated from 1958 to 1988, when they merged with Hickory and became HFD Station 5. The fire station was located at 1425 21st Street Dr SE. Source: OH, SOS
Catawba Maiden Maiden Rural Merged with Maiden FD 1972 2003   Maiden Rural FD, which operated from 1972 to 2003, merged with the municipal Maiden FD. Source: OH, SOS.
Catawba Newton Newton Rural Merged with Newton FD By 1999 1999   Newton Rural FD, which operated from ? to 1999, merged with the municipal Newton FD. Source: Charlotte Observer, 04JUL01.
Catawba Newton Riverside   79-82 82-87   Riverside FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982). No SOS data.
Catawba Newton Startown Merged with Newton FD 1979 2001   Startown FD, which operated from 1979 to 2001, merged with Newton FD on July 1, 2001. The fire station at 4197 Startown Road was extensively remodeled and became NFD Station 3. Source: Charlotte Observer, 04JUL01; NFD page, OH, SOS
Catawba Conover St. Timothy Merged with Conover FD 1971 1983   St. Timothy Volunteer Fire Department operated from 1971 to 1983. The fire station at 1011 Hwy. 70 W was built in 1971, and enlarged in 1976. STFD merged with Conover FD and became CFD Station 2. Source: CFD page, OH, SOS
Catawba Hickory Viewmont Merged with Hickory FD 1957 1988   Viewmont FD operated from 1957 to Sep. 1988, when they merged with Hickory and became HFD Station 6. The old VFD station is located just off Highway 127 North. Source: OH, SOS
Chowan Edenton MCAS Edenton   1940s 1940s Military Marine Corps Air Station Edenton operated during World War II. The fire department included both a crash crew and a structural department. Source: TH.
Clay Hayesville Hayesville   By 1972 > 1987   Hayesville FD appears in at least four DOI directories (1972, 1979, 1982, 1987).
Cleveland Grover Grover   72-79 82-87   Grover FD, municipal, appears in at least four DOI directories (1972, 1979, 1982, 1987).
Cleveland Lattimore Lattimore   By 1972 By 1979   Lattimore FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1972). No SOS data
Cleveland Grover Old Yellow   79-82 82-87   Old Yellow FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982). No SOS data
Cleveland Earl Rippy   79-82 82-87   Rippy FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982). No SOS data
Columbus Riegelwood Riegel Paper Mill Became Riegelwood FD? 1959 1963?   Riegel Paper Mill FD started in 1959, when the late John Riegel, founder of the company, built a fire station on John Riegel Road. In 1960, he bought an International/Central pumper, to protect the citizens in the Sanitary District. Notes this web site, A-D-R FD was established in 1963, then incorporated in 1971.
Columbus Riegelwood Acme-Delco Merged and formed Acme-Delco-Riegelwood FD? By 1971? 1971   Acme FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982).  No SOS data. Typo, as Acme-Delco-Riegelwood FD was incorporated in 1971?
Columbus Riegelwood Riegelwood Merged and formed Acme-Delco-Riegelwood FD? By 1971 1971   Riegelwood FD appears in at least two DOI directories (1972, 1982), but not in the directory of 1979. Typo, as Acme-Delco-Riegelwood FD was incorporated in 1971?
Craven New Bern Brice Creek   79-82 82-87   Brice Creek FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982). No SOS data
Craven Bridgeton Bridgeton Disbanded 1958 1999   Bridgeton FD was organized on Aug. 20, 1958, after receiving fire protection from New Bern for many years. Sanborn Maps of 1948 list the town as owning a chemical cart, but no fire department membership. The first BFD fire truck was delivered in Apr. 1959. The fire station was located in the old city hall and jail on B Street, which was renovated by firefighters. The first fire chief was Edward N. Brison. BFD later relocated to 408 Bridge Street, presently used by Tri-Community FD. BFD operated until 1999. The town of Bridgeton presently contracts with TCFD for fire protection. Source: Sanborn Maps, NCSFA, OH.
Craven Kinston MCAS Kinston         TBD.
Craven Vanceboro No. 1 Township   79-82 82-87   No. 1 Township FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982).
Craven New Bern Reelsboro-Olympia Renamed Reelsboro FD 1965 1976   Reelsboro-Olympia FD, which operated from 1965 to 1976, was renamed Reelsboro FD. Source: SOS, DOI.
Cumberland Fayetteville Bonnie Doone Assets merged with Fayetteville FD 1956 1996   Bonnie Doone FD was formed after a community meeting in 1955. The first fire station was a trailer loaned by Joe Dyer, with a telephone installed and a siren mounted on a pole. The first fire engine was purchased from Army surplus. The first station was built in 1958 on Swain Street. A second station was built in 1963 on Yadkin Road, and closed in 1976, the year the station on Santa Fe Drive was built. In 1986, the Swain Street station was closed and the Santa Fe Drive station was expanded. BDFD was disbanded 1996 after annexation by the city. Its assets were transferred to the Fayetteville FD. Source: Fayetteville Observer, 15NOV93, 06JAN96; SOS.
Cumberland Fayetteville Cedar Creek   By 1994 > 1994   Cedar Creek FD had a station located at 4105 Tabor Creek Road, built in 1994. No SOS data.
Cumberland Falcon Falcon-Godwin Renamed Godwin-Falcon FD 1970 82-87   Falcon-Goldwin FD, organized in 1970, appears in at least two DOI directories (1979, 1982). Source: DOI
Cumberland Fayetteville Fayetteville Airport Merged with Fayetteville FD     Airport Fayetteville Airport FD merged with/assets absorbed by Fayetteville FD.
Cumberland Fayetteville Fayetteville Veterans Administration Hospital   ? ? Hospital FVAH FD operated a 1941 Howe Defender that later served Dover (NC) FD, beginning in 1953. Source: MJL blog.
Cumberland Fayetteville Lafayette Village Merged with Fayetteville FD 1956 2004   Lafayette Village FD was chartered on Mar. 6, 1956. On July 8, 2004, the city annexed the area around their Bailey Lake Road station. LVFD merged with the Fayetteville FD and became FFD Station 17. The department closed, and their buildings, trucks, and most of their paid staff became part of FFD. They had 11 full-time employees. Source: Fayetteville Observer, 25MAY04, 09JUL04; SOS
Cumberland Fayetteville Lake Rim Merged with Fayetteville FD 1974 2004   Lake Rim FD merged with the Fayetteville FD on July 8, 2004, and became FFD Station __. The department closed, and their buildings, trucks, and most of their paid staff became part of FFD. They had 13 full-time employees. Source: Fayetteville Observer, 09JUL04; SOS
Cumberland Fayetteville Lake Upchurch Assets merged with Stoney Point FD 1980 1988   Lake Upchurch FD was formed in 1980, after splitting with the department that became Stoney Point FD. The department incorporation filing recorded in 1981. By the late 1980s, LUFD lacked adequate funds, staff, and equipment to operate. It was the smallest volunteer FD in Cumberland County, collecting only $6,123 from its tax district in 1987. On Dec. 29, 1987, the LUFD board voted to dissolve the department, and turn its assets over to Stoney Point FD. Source: Fayetteville Observer, 21JAN88; OH, SOS
Cumberland Fayetteville Lakeview Renamed Manchester FD 1964 1968   Lakeview FD was formed in 1963 and incorporated in 1964. In 1968, LFD was renamed Manchester FD. Source: Fayetteville Observer, 27OCT98, SOS.
Cumberland Fayetteville Manchester Assets merged with Spring Lake FD 1963 1998   Manchester FD was formed in 1968, renamed from Lakeview FD. MFD disbanded in 1998, after the board voted in Oct. 1998 to turn fire protection in the district over to the county. The departments assets were absorbed by Spring Lake FD. Source: SOS, Fayetteville Observer, 06OCT98, 27OCT98, 15DEC98.
Cumberland Fayetteville Raeford Road Disbanded 1956 1997   Raeford Road Volunteer Fire Department, which operated from 1956 to 1997, disbanded after annexation of its fire district by the city of Fayetteville. Source: OH, SOS.
Cumberland Fayetteville Veteran's Hospital   1939 or later By 1953? Hospital The Fayetteville Veterans Administrations Hospital operated a 1941 Howe Defender that was disposed to Civil Defense by 1953. That year, it was obtained the Dover VFD in Craven County. See this blog post.
Cumberland Fayetteville Yadkin Road District/station name for Bonnie Donne FD By 1972 82-87   In 1963, Bonnie Doone FD built a second station on Yadkin Road. The name Yadkin Road FD appears in at least three DOI directories (1972, 1979, 1982). YRFD does not appear in NCSFA rosters. No SOS data.
Currituck Moyock University Park   79-82 82-87   University Park FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982). No SOS data.
Dare Chicamacomico Chicamacomico   79-82 82-87   Chicamacomico FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982). No SOS data.
Dare Manteo Manteo Merged into Roanoke Island FD 1928 1974   Manteo FD, which operated from 1928 to 1974, merged with Wanchese FD and formed Roanoke Island FD.
Dare Manteo Wanchese Merged into Roanoke Island FD By 1974 1974   Wanchese FD, which operated from ? to 1974, merged with Manteo FD and formed Roanoke Island FD.
Dare Rodanthe Rodanthe-Waves Renamed Chicamacomico Banks FD 1966 1975   Rodante-Waves FD, also named Rodanthe-Waves-Salvo FD, operated from 1966 to 1975. Source: DOI, SOS.
Davidson Clemmons Arcadia Renamed Arcadia-Reedy Creek-Hampton FD 1958 1979   Arcadia FD incorporation filing recorded Feb. 19, 1958, and renamed Arcadia-Reedy Creek-Hampton FD on Oct. 12, 1979. Source: SOS.
Davidson Lexington North Lexington   79-82 82-87   North Lexington FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982). Became North Lexington Triangle FD?
Davidson Lexington Triangle Renamed North Lexington Triangle FD 1957 1974   Triangle FD incorporation filing recorded Feb. 22, 1957, and name change filing as North Lexington Triangle FD recorded on Jan. 4, 1974. Source: SOS.
Davie Mocksville Center   1958 > 1982   Center FD appears in at least two DOI directories (1979, 1982). Now Davie Center FD?
Davie Advance Forks of the Yadkin Renamed Fork FD? By 1972 > 1995   Forks of the Yadkin FD appears in NCSFA rosters (1982, 1983, 1985 to at least 1995) and at least three DOI directories (1972, 1979, 1982). Renamed Fork FD?
Duplin Chinquapin Community Renamed Fountaintown FD 1975 1986   Community FD, which operated from 1975 to 1986, was renamed Fountaintown FD. Source: SOS.
Edgecomb Macclesfield Maccripine   By 1972 By 1982   Maccripine FD appears in at least two DOI directories (1972, 1982). MFD does not appear in the DOI directory of 1979, nor NCSFA rosters. No SOS data.
Forsyth Winston-Salem Forest Hill Disbanded 1953 By 2008   Forest Hill FD was organized in 1953 under the guidance of the Forest Hill Civic Club. In 2007, the fire department moved operations to Stokes County. FHFD ceased operation by 2008.
Forsyth Winston-Salem Forsyth County   79-82 > 1983   Forsyth County FD appears in the NCSFA roster for 1983, and at least one DOI directory (1982).
Forsyth Winston-Salem Hanes   by 1949 > 1956   Hanes FD, which protected the Hanes Mill in Winston-Salem, appears in NCSFA rosters from 1949 to 1956.
Forsyth Winston-Salem Mineral Springs School District Renamed Mineral Springs FD 1952 2005   Mineral Springs School District FD, incorporated on Jan. 29, 1952, was renamed Mineral Springs FD on July 11, 2005. Source: SOS
Forsyth Winston-Salem Mt. Tabor Merged with Vienna FD 1952 > 1995   Mt. Tabor FD, incorporated in 1952, merged with Vienna FD in the 1990s. MTFD appears in the NCSFA roster of 1995. Source: OH, SOS
Forsyth Winston-Salem Sedge Garden Reorganized as Triangle FD 1949 1953   Sedge Garden FD started in 1949 as a project of the Sedge Garden Civic Club, which eventually formed the Sedge Garden Volunteer Fire Department. The group bought a 1921 fire truck that could go only 35 mph. The truck was purchased from the city of Winston-Salem for $500. The first fire station was Milam's Service Station. The group reorganized in 1953 as the Triangle FD. Source: Winston-Salem Journal, 12SEP04.
Forsyth Winston-Salem South Fork Merged with Clemmons FD 1951 1990   South Fork FD, which operated from 1951 to 1990, merged with Clemmons FD. The districts were combined and protected solely by CFD. To accommodate the increased response area, a second CFD station was constructed on South Peace Haven Road. SFFD incorporation filing recorded Aug. 13, 1951. The filing for name change was recorded on July 10, 1990. The disillusion filing recorded June 15, 2010. Source: SOS, Winston-Salem Journal, 15NOV01.
Forsyth Winston-Salem Triangle Disbanded 1953 2004   Triangle FD, which operated from 1953 to 2004, was formed as a reorganization of the Sedge Garden FD. TFD was named after a naming content among local high schools. Over the years, the department depended on dances, suppers, cookouts, car washes and even a beauty contest to raise money. In 1962, the department built its current fire station at 3260 Kernersville Road on three acres. TFD disbanded on July 1, 2004 after years of annexation by Winston-Salem and Kernersville. A closing ceremony was held on Sep. 12, 2004. Source: Winston-Salem Journal, 12SEP04.
Franklin Franklinton Mitchiner's Alternate name for Mitchiner's Crossroads FD? 79-82 82-87   Mitchiner's FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982), but does not appear in NCSFA rosters. Alternate name for Mitchiner's Crossroads FD?
Franklin Youngsville Western Franklin   79-82 82-87   Western Franklin FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982). WFFD does not appear in NSFA rosters. No SOS data.
Gaston Mount Holly Catawba Heights Merged with Mount Holly FD 1954 2000   Catawba Heights Volunteer Fire Department operated from 1954 to 2000. When their district was annexed in 1989, the twenty one-member department continued to serve the area. CHFD merged with Mount Holly FD on Oct. 1, 2000, and became Mount Holly Station 2. The fire station was located on Belmont Mount Holly Road at Fire Department Drive.
Gaston   Chapel Grove Merged into Crowder's Mountain FD 1963 2000   Chapel Grove FD, which operated from 1963 to 2000, merged with South Gastonia FD to form Crowder's Mountain FD. The station was located 111 at Camp Rotary Road. Source: OH, SOS.
Gaston   Chestnut Ridge Merged with Tryonota FD 1980 2002   Chestnut Ridge FD, which operated from 1980 to 2002, merged with Tryonota FD and became Tryonota Station 2. Source: OH, SOS.
Gaston Gastonia East Gastonia Disbanded   By 1972   East Gastonia FD, which operated from ? until the 1970s, was located on East Ozark Avenue. EGFD disbanded due to Gastonia annexations. EGFD does not appear in NCSFA rosters, nor the DOI directory of 1972. Source: OH.
Gaston High Shoals High Shoals Renamed North Gaston 1960 2009   HSFD was incorporated as High Shoals Volunteer Fire Department Inc. on June 9, 1960. They changed their name to High Shoals Volunteer Fire and Rescue on January 27, 2009. The reason involved tensions between the town and the fire department. Source: MJL blog.
Gaston Gastonia Rhyne Disbanded 1974 1999   Rhyne Volunteer Fire Department Inc., which operated from 1974 to 1999, was located on West Davidson Avenue at I-85. Disbanded due to Gastonia annexations. Source: OH, SOS.
Gaston Gastonia South Gastonia Merged into Crowder's Mountain FD 1964 2000   South Gastonia FD, which operated from 1964 to 2000, merged with Chapel Grove FD to form Crowder's Mountain FD. The fire station was located on Highway 321 South, just south of Crowders Creek Road. Source: OH.
Graham Fontana Dam Fontana   79-82 82-87   Fontana FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982), but does not appear in NCSFA rosters. No SOS data.
Granville Oxford Antioch   79-82 82-87   Antioch FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982), and in NCSFA rosters from 1989 to at least 1995. Now part of Antioch-Fishing Creek FD?
Granville Butner Camp Butner Became Butner Public Safety 1942 1947 Military Camp Butner opened on Aug. 4, 1942 and served as an Army training facility until 1947. CBFD was created when the camp was established. Apparatus included 1942 Chevrolet/ALF Class 300 300/300 (504734) and 1943 Dodge/Boyer Class 525 500/150 (505420). Source: TH.
 
In 1947, Camp Butner was purchased as a site for a new state mental healthy facility. CBFD became part of the John Umstead Hospital. The staff numbered 18 men, and the department protected both the hospital facility and the unincorporated community. The firefighters were trained as police officers and the department became Butner Public Safety. Source: MJL.
Greene Snow Hill Contennea Merged/renamed Snow Hill FD? By 1972 79-82   Contennea FD appears in at least two DOI directories (1972, 1979). In the 1979 directory, the mailing address is "c/o Snow Hill FD." Now Snow Hill FD? No SOS data.
Greene Hookerton Rainbow   By 1972 72-79   Rainbow FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1972). Now Hookerton FD? No SOS data.
Greene Walstonburg Speight's Bridge   By 1972 72-79   Speight's Bridge FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1972). Now Walstonburg FD? No SOS data.
Guilford Greensboro Battleground Merged with Summerfield FD 1954 2002   Battleground FD, which operated from 1954 to 2002, merged with Summerfield FD. They merged on July 1, 2002, after their district had been reduced by annexations to a small area. BFD provided two pumper/tankers, a squad truck, a rescue truck, a pick-up truck, and other equipment. BFD funds were used as seed money to build a new station at 6214 Lake Brandt Road. Source: OH, SOS, FD web site.
Guilford Greensboro Bessemer   By 1945 By 1958   Bessemer Fire Department protected in the incorporated community of Bessemer during the 1940s and 1950s. Sanborn Maps of 1950 lists BFD as volunteer with a Chief, Asst. Chief, Captain, and 31 men. One "station man" on duty 24 hours. Apparatus is a 1942 Chevrolet/American pumper, 500 GPM, 200 gallons, with 1000-feet of 2 1/2-inch hose and 300-feet of 3/4-inch hose. Alarms are sounded by telephone. Maps show the fire station as a one-story, cinder block building at 610 & 612 Elwell Avenue, north of East Bessemer Avenue. BFD is listed in NCSFA rosters for 1945 through 1958. No SOS data.
Guilford High Point 10-A Reorganized as Hasty FD 1955 1980   10-A Fire Department operated from 1955 to 1980. The station was originally located on Highway 10-A. Sanborn Maps of 1956 list the department as "for subscribers only", as volunteer with a chief and 25 firemen, two combination pumper, hose, and booster trucks, and fire alarms by telephone. Maps show the fire station as a two-story concrete block building at 1019 Chester Drive. After annexation by High Point, a new station was built in 1961 on Joe Moore Road at Burton Road. Renamed on Sept. 28, 1980 as Hasty FD after reorganization. Source: SOS, Hasty FD.
Guilford High Point Deep River Merged with High Point FD 1959 2005   Deep River FD operated from 1959 to 2005. By the 2000s, the district had shrunk from 16 to 10 square miles. By 2003, they had a full-time chief, 9 part-time members, and 14 volunteers. In Apr. 2003, DRFD moved into a new station on Barrow Road, built as a joint venture with High Point FD. The city paid for 2/3 of the $1.5 million facility, anticipating future ownership. HFPD also built a co-located station with Colfax Fire Department. On July 1, 2005, DRFD merged with HPFD. Source: Greensboro News-Record, 28SEP03, 25FEB05.
Guilford Greensboro District 3   By 1970 > 1970   District 3 FD appears in the NCSFA roster of 1970.
Guilford Greensboro District 5   79-82 82-87   District 5 FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982). No SOS data. Now part of District 13 FD?
Guilford Greensboro District 8   79-82 82-87   District 8 FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982). No SOS data. Now part of District 13 FD?
Guilford Greensboro District 14 Merged with Greensboro FD 1954 2005   District 14 FD, which operated from 1954 to 2005, merged with Greensboro FD and became GFD Station 56. Source: OH, SOS.
Guilford Gibsonville Friedena   By 1972 72-79   Friedena FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1972). No SOS data.
Guilford Greensboro Guilford College Merged with Greensboro FD 1946 2001   Guilford College FD was formed at the end of World War II, with a 1941 Ford pumper serving about 900 people. The war surplus truck was purchased in 1946, and converted into a fire engine. Members purchased their own equipment and what passed for uniforms, often from the Sears catalog. In 1948, they spent $900 on land at the corner of Guilford College Road and Savoy Lane to build a station. The first (?) Fire Chief was Charles McClellan. The fire station was completed in 1949 (?). GCFD incorporated in 1949.

A new station at 201 College Road was built in 1970, numbered Guilford County Station 17. GCFD later opened a second station on Inman Road, numbered Guilford Station 19. This temporary building was built in the 1950s. In 1987, a permanent Station 19 opened at 6001 Old Oak Ridge Road. Station 17 closed in 1987.

In 2000, Station 19 was relocated again to 6405 Old Oak Ridge Road. By this time, the GCFD district had shrunk from 40 to 11 square miles, with much of the remaining territory consisting of the tax-exempt airport. In 2001, GCFD merged into the Greensboro FD and Station 19 became GFD Station 17. Source: Greensboro News & Record, 27MAY96, 26OCT00, OH, SOS. See Legeros blog post.

Guilford Jamestown Jamestown Merged with Pinecroft-Sedgefield FD By 1955 2003   Jamestown FD was organized by 1955, and probably many years/decades earlier. In 1966, a two-bay fire station was built with the Jamestown town hall. In 2001, the fire department moved into its own building, built beside the town hall. In 2003, with Pinecroft-Sedgefield FD, which had four fire stations, 23 full-time members, and about 52 volunteers. JFD had 1 full-time and 4 part-time members, plus volunteers. The merger followed the Apr. 30, 2003 retirement of Jamestown Fire Chief Larry Lain, who led the department for 20 years. Source: Greensboro News & Record, 19MAY03.
Guilford Brown Sumitt Northeast   72-79 82-87   Northeast FD appears in at least two DOI directories (1979, 1982). Now Northeast Guilford FD?
Halifax Littleton Brinkleyville Disbanded. 1992 2006   Brinkleyville FD incorporation filing recorded Mar. 9, 1992. The disillusion filing recorded Jan. 19, 2006. Cash assets were distributed to five fire departments, the Halifax County Special Operations team, and the Halifax County Firefighters Association. Source: SOS.
Halifax Tillery Caledonia Prison Farm   79-82 82-87 Prison Caledonia Prison Farm FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982). The facility opened as a prison farm in 1892.
Halifax Roanoke Rapids Thelma   1977 > 1977   Thelma FD incorporation filing recorded Mar. 17, 1977. Source: SOS.
Harnett Angier Angier Merged into Angier-Black River FD 1925 1990   Angier FD appears in at least two DOI directories (1972, 1979). Merged with Black River FD to form Angier-Black River FD in 1990. Source: OH, SOS.
Harnett Angier Angier Rural   1959 1986   Angier Rural FD operated from 1959 to 1986. Unconfirmed. Alternate name for Black River FD? Source: SOS
Harnett Angier Black River Merged into Angier-Black River FD 1965 1990   Black River FD incorporation filing recorded in 1965 and appears in at least two DOI directories (1972, 1979). Merged with Angier FD to form Angier-Black River FD in 1990. Sources: OH, SOS.
Harnett Coats Coats Merged into Coats-Grove FD 1940s 1990   Coats FD, which operated from the 1940s to 1990, incorporation filing recorded in 1954. CFD merged with Grove Rural FD to form Coats-Grove FD.
Harnett Coats Grove Rural Merged into Coats-Grove FD 1973 1990   Grove Rural FD, which operated from 1973 to 1990. merged with Coats FD to form Coats-Grove FD.
Harnett Dunn Dunn Merged into Dunn Emergency Services 1946 2000   Dunn FD, incorporated in 1946 and probably organized years or decades earlier, was a municipal fire department that merged into the privately operated Dunn Emergency Services in 2000. DFD incorporation filing recorded Sep. 24, 1946. DFD filing for disillusion was recorded July 17, 1991. Source: OH.
Haywood Canton Beaverdam   By 1972 72-79   Beaverdam FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1972).
Haywood Canton Champion Fibre   By 1945 > 1948 Industrial Champion Fibre FD protected a pulp and paper mill. Sanborn Maps of 1945 describe the mill as having a drilled fire brigade with a private fire alarm system. Company employees were listed as North Carolina Fire School students in the NCSFA convention proceedings of 1948.
Haywood Canton Champion Paper   By 1972 79-82 Industrial Champion Paper FD appears in at least two DOI directories (1972, 1979).
Haywood Hazelwood Hazelwood Merged into Waynesville FD By 1924 1995   Hazelwood FD protected the town of Hazelwood. In 1924, HFD had a chief and 12 men, a hose reel with 500-feet of 2 1/2-inch hose. In 1931, Waynesville FD also served the town under contract. In 1945, HFD was housed at City Hall at 1005 S. Main Street. In 1977, HFD had 21 volunteers, a 1951 Ford pumper (750/300), a 1973 Ford pumper (750/500), and used a street sweeper as a tanker. HFD merged with Waynesville FD after the town of Hazelwood merged with the town of Waynesville. HFD became Waynesville Station 2. Source: OH, Sanborn Maps.
Haywood Lake Junaluska Lake Junaluska Alt. name for Junaluksa FD? By 1972 79-82   Lake Junaluska FD appears in at least two DOI directories (1972, 1979). Junaluska FD appears in a Haywood County fire protection study of 1977. No SOS data. Alternate name for JFD?
Haywood Waynesville Saunook-Balsom Became Saunook FD? By 1972 By 1977   Saunook-Balsom FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1972). SBFD does not appear in a Haywood County fire protection study of 1977, which lists Sanook FD instead. Now Saunook FD?
Henderson Fletcher Mountain Sanatorium   By 1972 72-79 Hospital Mountain Sanatorium FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1972).
Hertford Cofield Cofield   1971 1997   Cofield Volunteer Fire Department, Inc. Incorporated January 22, 1971. Source: SOS
Hoke Aberdeen McCain Prison Hospital   79-82 82-87 Hospital McCain Prison Hospital FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982). The facility opened in 1908 as a state tuberculosis sanatorium. It was renamed McCain Sanatorium in 1948, and McCahin Hospital in 1973. The hospital was transferred to the Division of Prisons in 1983.
Hoke Raeford Tyler Town Merged with North Raeford 1969 2005   Tylor Town FD, which operated from 1969 to 2005, merged with North Raeford FD. The fire station is/was located at 2214 Doc Brown Road. Source: Fayetteville Observer, 23JUN05; OH, SOS.
Hoke Red Springs Antioch Renamed South Antioch FD 1976 2001   Antioch FD incorporation filing recorded Dec. 3, 1976, and renamed South Antioch FD on Dec. 31, 2001. Source: SOS.
Iredell   Central   By 1972 > 1972   Central FD appears in Volunteer Fire Departments in Centralina study of Nov. 1972. Probable name change was indicated. Now Central School FD?
Jackson Sylva Mead Corporation   By 1972 72-79 Industrial Mead Corporation FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1972). MCFD does not appear in NCFSA rosters.
Jackson Cullowhee Western Carolina University   By 1972 72-79 School Western Carolina University FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1972). WCUFD does not appear in NCSFA rosters.
Johnston Clayton Claytex Dissolved 79-82 1996   Claytex FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982), but does not appear in NCSFA rosters. Claytex Fire District Inc. incorporation filing recorded Dec. 30, 1994, and disillusion filing recorded Jul. 11, 1996.
Jones Trenton Hargett   79-82 82-87   Hargett FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982). HCFD appears in the DOI directory of 1979. Now Hargett's Crossroads FD?
Jones Kinston Northwest   1968 > 1968   Northwest FD incorporation filing recorded Mar. 11, 1968. Source: SOS.
Lee Sanford West Sanford Merged with Northview FD 1956 2010   Incorporated April 20, 1956. Merger filed June 30, 2010. Source: SOS.
Lenoir Kinston Kinston Public Safety Split into fire and police departments 2004 2016   On July 1, 2016, Kinston Public Safety split into separate police and fire departments. The departments merged in 2004, when a special response unit was created of fourteen cross-trained police officers and firefighters. The split originated after the retirement of the Public Safety Director on January 1, 2016. See Legeros blog post.
Lenoir Kinston Moss Hill   1962 1986   Moss Hill Volunteer Fire Department, Inc. Unconfirmed. Source: SOS
Lenoir Pink Hill Cherry Tree   72-79 82-87   Cherry Tree FD appears in at least two DOI directories (1979, 1982). No SOS data.
Macon Highlands Scaly Mountain Disbanded, assets to Sky Valley/Scaly Mountain FD 1982 1995   Scaly Mountain Volunteer FD disbanded and its assets were transferred to the newly created Sky Valley/Scaly Mountain FD. Incorporation filing recorded Feb. 2, 1982. Disillusion filing recorded May 24, 2000. Source: SOS
Madison Hot Springs West Madison Renamed Spring Creek FD 1981 1985   West Madison FD incorporation filing recorded Mar. 23, 1981, and renamed Spring Creek FD on Sep. 9, 1985. Source: OH, SOS
McDowell Marion Cross Cotton Mills Disbanded By 1940 1994 Industrial Cross Cotton Mills FD appears in the NCSFA roster of 1940. Sanborn Maps of 1939 list mill fire apparatus as including two hose reels with 500-feet of 2 1/2-inch hose. The department disbanded in 1994. Source: OH.
McDowell Marion M.A.   By 1979 82-87   M.A. FD appears in at least two DOI directories (1979, 1982), but does not appear in NCSFA rosters. The 1979 directory listing is "M. A. Fire Dept. (#2)." No SOS data.
McDowell Marion Pleasant Garden Renamed PG FD 1948 79-82   Pleasant Garden FD incorporation filing recorded June 17, 1948. PGFD appears in at least one DOI directory (1979). PGFD appears as "Pleasant Gardens FD" in NCSFA rosters. Renamed PG FD. Source: SOS.
McDowell Marion Woodlawn   By 1972 72-79   Woodlawn FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1972). Now Woodlawn-Sevier FD?
Mecklenburg Charlotte Camp Greene   1918   Military After a hospital fire on Dec. 30, 1917, the Charlotte FD leased the camp a steam engine and a team of horses. Camp Greene was located west of the city, in the area of Camp Greene Street, Remount Road, and Wilkinson Boulevard. It was built in 1917 and closed in 1919. The fire company, US Army Unit 323, was organized in March 1918 and demobilized in March 1919. Source: Army Fire Fighting by Leroy Allen Ward. 
Mecklenburg Charlotte Carmel Merged with Carolina FD > 1980 94-95   Carmel FD, renamed from Sharon FD, operated from on/after 1980 to 1994-95 and originally served the present SouthPark and heart of southeast Charlotte. CFD merged with Carolina FD in the mid 1990s. The station was located at 6325 Carmel Road. Source: Charlotte Observer, 20JUL94
Mecklenburg Charlotte Charlotte Quartermaster Depot Disbanded 1941 or later By 1949 Military Charlotte Quartermaster Depot FD protected the naval ordnance depot. The facility, located at 1776 Statesville Avenue, was activated in 1941 and deactivated in 1949. Source: CMCFPS.
Mecklenburg Charlotte Cornelius Became Cornelius-Lemly FD By 1948 79-82   Cornelius FD was organized by 1948. It also appears in at least two DOI directories (1972, 1979). Source: CMCFPS.
Mecklenburg Charlotte Derita Became Derita Rescue 1950 94-95   Derita FD was organized in 1950 and operated until 1994-95. In its early years, DFD fought fires as far south as uptown Charlotte. After annexation in the mid 1990s left only a few streets in their territory, they continued operation as rescue squad. They covered one-half of the Mallard Creek fire district and a portion of the Long Creek fire district. They merged with the Charlotte Life Saving Crew, which allowed them to answer rescue and extrication calls throughout Mecklenburg County. Derita Rescue disbanded in 1997.
 
The first fire truck was a 1950 Ford F-5 pumper with a Darley 500 GPM pump and a 500 gallon tank. Their last apparatus were two Ford C-8000 engines, a brush truck, and a rescue truck. The engines were sold to Flowe Store FD in Cabarrus County. The brush truck was sold to Cooks Community FD. The rescue truck was eventually sold to Mallard Creek FD. Many Dertia FD members joined Mallard Creek FD, and some joined Long Creek FD.
 
The first fire station was Puckett's Farm Equipment building on West Sugar Creek Road, which was used until the fire station was built across the street at 2715 West Sugar Creek Road. The building started as a two-bay structure, and a third bay was later added. The wooden training tower was completed just prior to the department disbanding. Source: OH, SOS, Charlotte Observer, 20JUL94.
Mecklenburg Huntersville Gilead Merged with Huntersville FD 1967 2010   Gilead VFD, which operated from at least 1967 to 2010, merged with the Huntersville FD. Incorporation filings were recorded Aug. 3, 1967. Articles of merger were recorded on Apr. 1, 2010. Source: OH, SOS.
Mecklenburg Pineville Harrison Renamed Carolina FD 1956 1964   Incorporated on September 11, 1956. Renamed Carolina FD on November 13, 1964. Source: SOS.
Mecklenburg Charlotte Hickory Grove Became Robinson FD 1953 1988   Hickory Grove FD, which operated from 1953 to 1988, was renamed Robinson FD. Department organized in Apr. 1953. First fire truck obtained in 1954, and stored in a shed Hickory Grove road between W. D. Maye's store and Hickory Grove Upholstering Company. Station address then/later at 6111 or 6115 Hickory Grove Road. Sources: OH, Charlotte News, 11OCT67, Mecklenburg Times, 08JUL54.
Mecklenburg Charlotte Mallard Creek Disbanded 1953 2011   Mallard Creek FD, which operated from 1953 to 2011, ceased operation on June 30, 2011. They donated their assets to the Huntersville FD. Their station was located at 10702 Mallard Creek Road. Their disillusioni papers were filed May 2, 2012. Source: SOS, WSOC-TV.
Mecklenburg Charlotte Moores Chapel Merged into West Mecklenburg FD 1954 1984   Moores Chapel FD, which was organized in 1954, merged with Wilkinson Boulevard VFD in Jan. 1, 1984, and formed West Mecklenburg FD. Annexations had reduced their territory by 20 percent. Became WMFD Station #1. Station on Moores Chapel Road near Blacksnake Road. Both stations subsequently closed and 66-member department relocated to Sam Wilson Road. Source: Charlotte News, 27MAR84.
Mecklenburg Charlotte Newell Disbanded 1949 2011   Newell FD, which operated from 1949 to 2011, ceased operation on June 30, 2011. Declining revenue, higher costs, and annexations cutting into their territory were cited as reasons for closure. They donated their assets to other departments. Their station was located at 9007 Newell Baptist Church Road. Source: SOS, WSOC-TV.
Mecklenburg Charlotte Oakhurst Became Idlewild FD 1952 1974   Oakhurst FD, which operated from 1952 to 1974, disbanded after annexations. First station location ? Second station opened 1957 at 5413 Monroe Road. Moved and reorganized as Idlewild FD. Alternate year for closure 1975. Sources: OH, Charlotte News, 11OCT67, Charlotte News, 27MAR84.
Mecklenburg Charlotte Pinoca Merged with West Mecklenburg FD 1949 94-95   Pinoca FD, which operated from 1949 to 1994-95, was impacted by annexations in the mid-1990s, PFD merged with West Mecklenburg FD. Station located at 5530 Hovis Road. Source: SOS, Charlotte Observer, 20JUL94
Mecklenburg Charlotte Route No. 10   By 1955 By 1958   Route No. 10 FD appears in the NCSFA roster for 1955. R. A. Breyare is listed as Fire Chief. In the rosters for 1956 and 1957, the fire department is listed as inactive. It disappears from the roster in 1958.
Mecklenburg Charlotte Sharon Renamed Carmel FD 1959 > 1980   Sharon FD was incorporated on March 4, 1959, and until 1980 or after, and was renamed / reorganized as Carmel FD. First station at corner of Fairview and Sharon roads. Second station relocated in 1973 after annexations in 1970, to location further south near Sharon and Champaign streets. Third station relocated to 6325 Carmel Road. The $100,000 station was built starting 1978 and occupied on Jan. 1, 1980. Renamed Carmel FD in/after 1980. Source: SOS, Charlotte News, 11OCT67, Charlotte Observer, Apr. 9, 1980.
Mecklenburg Charlotte Statesville Road Disbanded 1957 1989   Statesville Road FD was organized after several fires broke out in the community, which depended on Derita FD and Long Creek FD for aid. They organized the FD within a year, and built the station in two years. SRFD disbanded after annexations left little remaining of their territory in northwest Mecklenburg around Lakeview Road and Highway 115. Station at 3315 Lake Road. Earlier road name/station location Milhaven Lane. Source: SOS, Charlotte News, 11OCT67, Charlotte Observer, 21JUN89
Mecklenburg Charlotte Wilkinson Boulevard Merged into West Mecklenburg FD 1943 1984   Wilkinson Boulevard FD was one of the first rural departments in North Carolina, organized in 1943 after two houses were destroyed on Gary Street off Wilkinson Boulevard, just outside the city limits. The department acquired hose and sponsored the installation of hydrants along a newly installed main. WBFD reformed in 1947, and a formal fire department was created. Apparatus was acquired, and a station was built. The first station was located at 2925 Wilkinson Boulevard, and relocated by 1967 to 2904 Little Rock Road just north of Wilkinson Boulevard. Due to annexations, WBFD merged with Moores Chapel FD in 1984 and formed West Mecklenburg FD. Became WMFD Station #2. Both stations subsequently closed and 66-member department relocated to Sam Wilson Road. Source: OH, FD, Charlotte Observer, 21JUN89, Charlotte News, 27MAR84. See Legeros blog posting.
Mecklenburg Charlotte Woodlawn Disbanded By 1950 1974   Woodlawn FD was operated by Woodlawn Community Center, operated from at least 1950 to 1974, and closed after annexation. Station built circa 1948 at 8041 Nations Ford Road, later served as Medic Station 2. Presently private owned and used as storage? Source: NCSFA, OH, Charlotte Observer, 21JUN89, Charlotte News, 01MAR76.
Mecklenburg Matthews Matthews Renamed Matthews-Morning Star FD 1954 1977   Incorporated on August 23, 1954. Renamed Matthews-Morning Star FD on April 6, 1977. Source: SOS.
Mecklenburg Matthews-Morning Star Matthews Disbanded 1977 2008   Renamed from Matthews FD on April 6, 1977. Replaced by municipal fire department in town organized in November 2008. Filed articles of disillusion May 17, 2011. Source: SOS.
Mecklenburg Pineview Pineview Alternate name for Pineville-Morrow FD By 1972 72-79   Pineview FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1972). Alternate name for Pineville-Morrow FD.
Mitchell Spruce Pine Altapass Merged into Parkway FD 1984 2001   Altapass FD, which operated from 1984 to 2001, merged with Grassy Creek FD and formed Parkway FD. Source: OH, SOS
Mitchell Green Mountain Clearmont   1979 > 1979   Clearmont FD incorporation filing recorded Apr. 12, 1979. CFD does not appear in the DOI directory of 1979. Source: SOS.
Mitchell Bakersville Eli Rural   79-82 82-87   Eli Rural FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982).
Mitchell Spruce Pine Estatoe Merged with Spruce Pine FD 1988 2003   Estatoe FD, which operated from 1988 to 2003, merged with Spruce Pine FD and became SPFD Station 2. Source: OH, SOS
Mitchell Spruce Pine Grassy Creek Merged into Parkway FD 1964 2001   Grassy Creek FD, which operated from 1964 to 2001, merged with Altapass FD and formed Parkway FD. Source: OH, SOS
Mitchell Green Mountain Tipton Hill   1975 79-82   Tipton Hill FD incorporation filing recorded Apr. 14, 1975. THFD appears in at least one DOI directory (1979). Source: DOI, SOS.
Moore Southern Pines Camp Mackall   1942   Military Camp Mackall was built in 1942, and construction included seven service clubs, two guest houses, three libraries, 16 post exchanges, 12 chapels, a hospital, 65 miles of roads, and three 5,000-foot runways. CMFD was mentioned in newspaper articles of the 1940s. Source: web page.
Moore Cameron Cameron Rural Merged with Circle V 1958 2010   Cameron Rural FD, which operated from 1958 to 2010, merged with Circle V FD. CRFD incorporation filing recorded Oct. 21, 1958. The merger was effective June 15, 2010, the date the articles of merger were filed. Source: SOS.
Moore Carthage Longleaf   79-82 82-87   Longleaf FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982). No SOS data.
Moore Vass Vass   72-79 82-87   Vass FD appears in at least two DOI directories (1979, 1982). No SOS data.
Nash Rocky Mount Stony Creek Disbanded By 1965 1990s   Stony Creek FD discontinued fire protection due to annexations by Rocky Mount, but continued as rescue provider. Source: OH.
New Hanover Wilmington New Hanover County Airport Renamed Wilmington International Airport 1950s 1997   In 1988, New Hanover County Airport was renamed New Hanover County International Airport. In 1997, it was renamed Wilmington International Airport.
New Hanover Wilmington Bluethenthal Field Renamed New Hanover County Airport. By 1940s 1950s   Bluethenthal Field was dedicated in 1928. During World War II, the airport was used by United States Army Air Forces Third Air Force for antisubmarine patrols and training. Apparatus included 1944 Brockway/ALF Class 155 (507646). Source: TH. In the 1950s, the name was changed to New Hanover County Airport.
New Hanover Wilmington Castle Hayne Disbanded 1958 2010   Castle Hayne FD, which operated from 1958 to 2010, ceased operation on Oct. 1, 2010, when New Hanover County FD became sole provider of fire protection in unincorporated areas of the county. CHFD incorporation filing recorded Nov. 12, 1958. Source: SOS.
New Hanover Wilmington Federal Point Disbanded 1974 2010   Federal Point FD, which operated from 1974 to 2010, ceased operation on Oct. 1, 2010, when New Hanover County FD became sole provider of fire protection in unincorporated areas of the county. FPFD incorporation filing recorded Dec. 16, 1974. The disillusion filing recorded Dec. 22, 2010. Source: SOS.
New Hanover Kure Beach Fort Fisher Army Air Field Disbanded 1940 or later 1944 Military See below.
New Hanover Kure Beach Fort Fisher Air Station Disbanded 1955 or later By 1989 Military Fort Fisher Air Station FD protected the facility, which operated from 1955 until 1989. FFAS was created as a radar facility, from part of Fort Fisher Army Air Field, which operated from 1940 (?) to 1944. More information from Legeros.
New Hanover Wilmington Figure Eight Island Dissolved 1983 1988   Figure Eight Island Volunteer Fire Department incorporation filing recorded Jan. 24, 1983, and the disillusion filing recorded Feb. 10, 1988. Source: SOS.
New Hanover Wilmington Myrtle Grove Disbanded 1957 2010   Myrtle Grove FD, which operated from 1957 to 2010, ceased operation on Oct. 1, 2010, when New Hanover County FD became sole provider of fire protection in unincorporated areas of the county. MGFD incorporation filing recorded Sep. 19, 1957. Source: SOS.
New Hanover Wilmington NCANG Dissolved ? ? Military Apparatus included a 1954 American LaFrance O-11A crash truck (54L 210). Source: TH.
New Hanover Wilmington North Wilmington Disbanded 1990 1993   North Wilmington Volunteer Fire Department was renamed from South Wilmington FD on Apr. 26, 1990, and dissolved in 1993 after the county cancelled its contract. The station on US 421 was later used by New Hanover FD. Source: Star-News, 13JAN95, 19NOV96.
New Hanover Wilmington Seagate Disbanded 1940 2005   Seagate FD was formed in 1940 by members of the fishing community to help protect along Bradley Creek and Greenville Sound. The first apparatus was a 1931 automobile with three drums mounted on the back and a fan belt-powered pump. The first (?) fire station location was 122 Sebrell Avenue. The department moved in 1955 to 6012 Oleander Drive. In 1998, over 55 percent of the Seagate fire district was annexed by the city of Wilmington. In 2000, the remainder of their territory was annexed by the city. SFD ceased operation on Sep. 30, 2005. Source: firenews.net
New Hanover Wilmington South Wilmington Renamed North Wilmington FD 1956 1990   South Wilmington Volunteer Fire Department incorporation filing recorded Aug. 9, 1956, and renamed North Wilmington FD on Apr. 26, 1990. Source: SOS.

In 1984, the station was located on Titanium Road, midway between Carolina Beach Road and River Road.

Earlier station/department locations were listed as 348 Cape Fear Boulevard (1972), 102 Marion Drive (1971, 1960), and Vance Street (1958).

New Hanover Wilmington Winter Park Disbanded 1951 2005   Winter Park FD organized in 1951 with 23 volunteers. WFD incorporation filing recorded in 1956 and ceased operation on Oct. 31, 2005. The department donated its remaining funds, $114,000, to Cape Fear Community College, for new equipment for its public safety training center. The station was located at 4601 Park Avenue. Source: SOS, Star-News, 25OCT05.
New Hanover Wilmington Wrightsboro Disbanded 1952 2010   Wrightsboro FD, operated from 1952 to 2010, ceased operation on Oct. 1, 2010, when New Hanover County FD became sole provider of fire protection in unincorporated areas of the county. WFD incorporation filing recorded July 16, 1952. Source: SOS.
Onslow   Camp Davis   1940s 1940s Military Apparatus included  1942 Ford/ALF Class 500 500/150 (501790), 1942 International/John Bean Class 125 crash truck (504144).
Onslow Holly Ridge Sneads Ferry Merged into Turkey Creek FD 1961 2013 Incorporated February 27, 1961. Merger filed July 19, 2013. Source: SOS.
Orange Chapel Hill Glen Lennox disbanded c1952 1956 Commercial Volunteer fire brigade that protected the Glen Lennox Shopping Center and likely the apartments just outside of Chapel Hill. One small fire truck, likely shop-built, operated by maintenance men. Housed in a maintenance/office building that also housed a service station. Disbanded after town fire protection services started in 1956, after annexation. Source: Chapel Hill News, MJL. See Legeros blog posting.
Orange Hillsborough Central Orange   79-82 82-87   Central Orange FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982). No SOS data.
Orange Hillsborough Hillsborough   1937 1996   Originally named Hillsboro FD, the department was organized in 1937. In 1996, the town began contracted fire protection with Orange Rural FD, and the town fire department was dissolved. However, the name HFD continued to appear on fire apparatus purchased by the town, for ORFD. See Legeros web page.
Pamlico Bayboro Bayboro Became Triangle FD? By 1972 72-79   Bayboro FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1972). In the 1979 directory, the mailing address for Triangle FD is care of BFD. No SOS data. Became Triangle FD?
Pamlico Edenton Edenton Air Station   1940s 1960 Military Edenton Air Station FD protected the Marine Corps air station that operated during World War II. After the war, it was redesignated as a Naval Auxiliary Air Station. See Legeros blog post.
Pamlico New Bern New Bern         New Bern Volunteer Fire Department Inc. Disbanded. Incorporated on June 19, 2003.
Pamlico Oriental Oriental   By 1972 79-82   Oriental FD appears in at least two DOI directories (1972, 1979). No SOS data.
Pamlico New Bern Reelsboro-Olympia Renamed Reelsboro FD 1965 1976   Reelsboro-Olympia FD incorporation filing recorded May 12, 1965, and name change filing as Reelsboro FD recorded on Mar. 15, 1976. Source: DOI, SOS.
Pasquotank Weeksville Elizabeth City Naval Air Station   By 1944 > 1944 Military Elizabeth City Naval Air Station, commissioned in 1940 as a Coast Guard air station, had a fire department by 1944. The facility was under Navy control during World War II.
Pender Burgaw Pender Central Fire District   By June 1971     Name change from Burgaw Volunteer FD. Source: Hose & Nozzle, May-June 1971.
Pender Hamsptead Hampstead Merged with Pender EMS 1983 2013   Merged with Pender EMS to form Pender EMS & Fire, a combination of one EMS department and three fire departments. See Legeros blog post.
Pender Long Creek-Grady Rocky Creek Merged with Pender EMS 1954 2013   Merged with Pender EMS to form Pender EMS & Fire, a combination of one EMS department and three fire departments. See Legeros blog post.
Pender Sloop Point Hampstead Merged with Pender EMS 1974 2013   Merged with Pender EMS to form Pender EMS & Fire, a combination of one EMS department and three fire departments. See Legeros blog post.
Pender Surf City Surf City Disbanded 1974 2013   Renamed from Topsail Island FD. Dissolved in 2013, after county voted in June 2013 to end their contract. The department was about $430,000 in debt. Property and debt were transferred to Pender County. The district would be served by Surf City (municipal) FD, via contract. Fire station was located at 100 Deer Run Road. Source: Star News, July 5, 2013. See Legeros blog post #1,  see Legeros blog post #2.
Pender Topsail Beach Topsail Beach Changed to rescue squad 1969 1971? 1973?   Topsail Beach Volunteer Rescue Squad and Fire Department. Incorporated December 5, 1969. Changed name to Topsail Beach Volunteer Rescue Squad in 1971 or 1973, and to Topsail Beach EMS in 1990. Merged with Pender East Volunteer Rescue and EMS on August 25, 1999. Source: EMS.
Pender Surf City Topsail Island Renamed Surf City FD 1966 1974   Topsail Island FD incorporation filing recorded Sept. 15, 1966, and name change filing as Surf City FD recorded on June 2, 1974. Source: SOS. See Legeros blog post.
Pender Surf City Treasure Coast Disbanded 1992 1994   Treasure Coast FD was organized as a municipal fire department to protect Surf City. Organization of the department started around Oct. 1992, when the town gave the Surf City Volunteer FD a one-year notice that they were cancelling their fire protection contract. TCFD was placed in service on Oct. 6, 1993. TCFD incorporation filing recorded Mar. 24, 1994. The department operated until or after May 1994. The town renewed its contract with SCVFD beginning in May 1994. Source: DOI, SCVFD, GNA. See Legeros blog post.
Pender Wilmington Scotts Hill   1977 1992   Scotts Hill FD, which operated from 1997 and 1990, ceased operation on Feb. 1, 1992, after the lease expired on its fire station. The department was housed in a former antique shop at the Poplar Grove Plantation on US.17. They had been located at that site for at least 12 years. The department had been seeking a new location since 1987. The district was subsequently served by the Hampstead FD and Ogden FD. SHFD attempted to reactivate, by finding land for a fire station. SHFD incorporation filing recorded Oct. 3, 1977. Source: SOS, GNA. See Legeros blog post #1 and see Legeros blog post #2.
Pender Watha Shiloh   By 1972 72-79   Shiloh FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1972). Now Shiloh-Columbia FD?
Perquimans Belvidere Belvidere   79-82 82-897   Belvidere FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982). BCHFD appears in the DOI directory of 1979. Now Belvidere-Chappell Hill FD?
Perquimans Hertford Harvey Point Naval Auxiliary Air Station   By 1944 > 1944 Military Harvey Point Naval Auxiliary Air Station, built in 1942, had a fire department by 1944. The air station remained in service until 1958.
Person Roxboro Ca-Vel   By 1938 > 1959 Industrial The Ca-Vel Fire Department protected the Collins & Aikman velvet manufacturing plant. Sanborn Maps of Jan. 1943 show the fire department had a Ford/General pumper, 300 GPM, 80 gallons, with 1000-feet of 2 1/2-inch hose. The one-story fire station was located at 910 Country Road (present N. Main Street), just north of the Rollins Boulevard (present Kerr Drive) split. Ca-Vel FD appears in NCSFA rosters from 1938 to 1959. See blog post.
Person Roguemont Mt. Tirzah   1976 79-82   Mt. Tirzah FD incorporation filing recorded Oct. 27, 1976. MTFD appears in the DOI directory from 1982. Source: SOS.
Pitt Stokes Stokes   By 1972 82-87   Stokes FD, later also known as Carolina Township FD, appears in at least three DOI directories (1972, 1979, 1982). No SOS data. Source: OH.
Randolph Archdale Archdale District/alt. name for Guil-Rand FD? By 1953 > 1955   Archdale FD is listed in NCSFA rosters for 1953 and 1955. District/alt. name for Guil-Rand FD?
Randolph Asheboro Central Falls District/alternate name for North Asheboro FD N/A N/A   Central Falls FD appears in NCSFA rosters from (1947, 1950, 1953-1959. District/alternate name for North Asheboro FD. No SOS data.
Randolph Asheboro Central Randolph Renamed East Side FD 1968     Central Randolph Volunteer FD was organized on April 1, 1968. It was later renamed East Side FD, though the fire district name remains Central Randolph. The corporate name is presently East Side Volunteer Fire Protection Association Inc, with incorporation filing recorded July 17, 1968. Source: ESFD site.
Randolph Asheboro North Asheboro Merged with Asheboro FD By 1945 1970   North Asheboro FD protected the North Asheboro/Central Falls Sanitary District. NAFD appears in NCSFA rosters (1945, 1946, 1948, 1949, 1951, 1960-1970. The 1963 to 1970 roster lists are "North Asheboro (Central Falls)". In 1970, NAFD merged with Asheboro FD. At the time of the merger, NAFD had a 1962 American LaFrance pumper. The Fire Chief was Wade Lawrence. From 1970 to 1972, Asheboro firefighters protected the North Asheboro area from a temporary Station 2 on Hinshaw Street. They rented a house and erected a metal shelter for the apparatus. In Jan. 1972, a permanent Station 2 was occupied at 2105 N. Fayetteville Street. No SOS data. Source: RCF.
Randolph Asheboro North Carolina Zoo   By 1976 > 1976 Industrial Construction of the North Carolina Zoo started in 1974. The facility opened in 1976. The first piece of fire apparatus used for protection at the Zoo was a 1961 International pumper, formerly operated by the Six Forks Road Fire Department in Wake County. Unknown if formal fire department or fire brigade existed. Source: OH. See Legeros blog post.
Randolph Sophia Hillsville   1968 1986   Hillsville Fire Protective Association, Inc. Unconfirmed. Source: SOS
Richmond Hamlet Dobbins Heights Disbanded 1974 1998   Dobbins Heights FD incorporation filing recorded Sep. 25, 1974, and disbanded 1998. Service was assumed by Hamlet FD. Source: OH, SOS.
Rockingham Mayoden Ayersville   By 1972 72-79   Ayersville FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1972). No SOS data.
Rockingham Draper Draper Merged into Eden FD by 1952 by 1967   Draper FD merged with Leaksville and Spray to form Eden FD, after the villages merged in 1967. DFD appears in NCSFA rosters from 1952 to 1967. Became EFD Station 3. Source: OH.
Rockingham Leaksville Leaksville Merged into Eden FD by 1921 by 1969   Leaksville FD merged with Draper and Spray to form Eden FD, after the villages merged in 1967. LFD appears in Sanborn Maps of 1921 and is listed in NCSFA rosters from 1924 to 1968 and appears as "Leaksville (Eden No. 1)" in the 1969 roster. Became EFD Station 1. Source: OH.
Rockingham Stoneville Stoneville Volunteer Merged into town FD? 1981 2006   Stoneville Volunteer FD incorporation filing recorded Mar. 20, 1981. Disillusion filing recorded Aug. 11, 2006. Source: SOS.
Rockingham Spray Spray Merged into Eden FD by 1952 by 1968   Spray FD merged with Draper and Leaksville to form Eden FD, after the villages merged in 1967. SPF appears in NCSFA rosters from 1952 to 1968. Became EFD Station 2. Source: OH. See Legeros blog post.
Rockingham Spray Spray Rural Disbanded 1984 > 1984   Spray Rural FD operated from 1984 until ? Leaksville, Spray, and Draper each had rural fire departments and rural districts. SRFD subsequently closed, and their district was split between Draper Rural and Leaksville Rural. Source: OH.
Rowan Mt. Ulla Centenary Merged into West Rowan FD 1956 2001   Centenary FD, which operated from 1956 to 2001, merged with Mt. Ulla-Bear Popular FD to form West Rowan FD. Source: OH, SOS
Rowan Salisbury Chestnut Hill Merged with Salisbury FD? by 1907 > 1912   The unincorporated community of Chestnut Hill was protected by a fire company named Southside, that competed and won in state firemen's tournaments as early as 1907 and as late as 1912. The Southside Reel Team appears in NCSFA convention proceedings from 1914, and is listed with the Salisbury Fire Department in proceedings from 1915. The Fire Chief and Asst. Chief in 1911 were G. C. Kluttz and Asst. Chief as J. G. Reeves. Source: NCSFA. See Legeros blog post.
Rowan Landis Corriher Mill   by 1947 > 1947 Industrial Corriher Mill FD, along with Linn Mill FD, protected Landis until 1947. Source: OH.
Rowan Rockwell Crescent   by 1951 > 1951 School Crescent FD protected the Nazareth Orphans Home, which opened in 1906 and operated a fire department by 1951. The department was staffed by older boys of the home, and adult male staff. Source: The State, 19JUN54; OH.
Rowan Gold Hill Gold Hill   by 1960 72-79   Gold Hill FD appears in NCSFA rosters from 1960 to 1972. Source: OH, SOS.
Rowan Gold Hill Gold Hill Rural         Gold Hill Rural FD appears in NCSFA rosters from the 1960s.
Rowan Liberty Liberty Renamed West Liberty FD 1954 1960   Liberty FD incorporation filing recorded Apr. 27, 1954, and name change filing as West Liberty FD recorded on Nov. 28, 1960. Source: DOI, SOS.
Rowan Landis Linn Mill   by 1947 > 1947 Industrial Linn Mill FD, along with Corriher Mill FD, protected Landis until 1947. Landis started as a mill town. In 1900, Columbus A. Linn and sons founded Linn Mill. Source: OH, this history page.
Rowan Mt. Ulla Mt. Ulla-Bear Popular Merged into West Rowan FD 1953 2001   Mt. Ulla-Bear Popular FD, which operated from 1953 to 2001, merged with Centenary FD to form West Rowan FD. Source: OH, SOS.
Rowan Salisbury Julian Robertson Alt name for NC Finishing Company FD? 1947 1956   Julian Robertson FD appears in NCSFA rosters from 1947 to 1956. Julian Robertson was the name of a key stakeholder in the company. No SOS data. See Legeros blog post.
Rowan Salisbury North Carolina Finishing Company Disbanded by 1947 by 2000 Industrial North Carolina Finishing Company FD is believed to appear as Julian Robertson FD in NCSFA rosters from 1947 to 1956. The company fire department was a member of the Rowan County Fireman's Association in the early 1980s. The plant closed in 2000. Source: NCSFA, OH.
Rowan Salisbury Rowan Mills   by 1943 79-82 Industrial Rowan Mills FD appears in NCSFA rosters (1943 to 1969), and at least two DOI directories (1972, 1979).
Rowan China Grove South Rowan   1978 > 1978   South Rowan FD incorporation filing recorded Mar. 8, 1978. SRFD does not appear in NCSFA rosters.
Rowan Spencer Spencer Shops Disbanded by 1913 79-82 Industrial Spencer Shops FD, which protected a railroad maintenance facility, operated from at least 1913 until after 1972. The facility opened in 1896 and a town developed on 84 acres of land partitioned by the Southern Railway company. The town of Spencer was incorporated in 1901. The facility closed in the late 1970s. Four acres and three buildings were donated to the state in 1977. Two years later, the entire site was donated. Source: Sanborn Map. SSFD appears in at least two DOI directories (1979, 1982). See Legeros blog post.
Rutherford Forest City Danieltown Merged into Shiloh-Danieltown-Oakland FD 1968 1987   Danieltown Volunteer Fire Department incorporation filing recorded Nov. 22, 1968. The corporation dissolved with filing recorded June 23, 1987. (Alternate history includes a merger with Shiloh-Danieltown-Oakland FD with incorporation filing recorded on February 25, 1987.) Also, what's the connection with Danieltown Area VFD in Rutherfordton, with incorporation filing recorded on July 2, 1987? Source: OH, SOS.
Rutherford Bostic Golden Valley   By 1972 By 1978   Golden Valley FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1972). GVFD does not appear in a county fire protection study of 1978.
Rutherford Harris Harris   By 1972 72-79   Harris FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1972). No SOS data.
Rutherford Lake Lure Lake Lure Disbanded 1976 1995   Lake Lure FD incorporation filing recorded July 15, 1976, and disillusion filing recorded Sept. 18, 1995. Source: SOS.
Rutherford   Oakland Merged into Shiloh-Danieltown-Oakland FD By 1987 1987   Oakland FD was formed by 1987, and merged into Shiloh-Danieltown-Oakland FD with incorporation filing recorded on February 25, 1987. Source: SOS.
Rutherford Bostic Rutherford County Fire Patrol Rename Triple Community FD 1966 1972   Rutherford County Fire Patrol incorporation filing recorded Oct. 19, 1966, and renamed Triple Community FD as filing recorded on Sep. 5, 1972.
Rutherford Stoneville Shiloh Merged into Shiloh-Danieltown-Oakland FD 1969 1987   Shiloh  Community Fire Protection Association Inc. incorporation filing recorded Apr. 10, 1969. They merged into Shiloh-Danieltown-Oakland FD, with incorporation filing recorded on February 25, 1987. Source: SOS.
Rutherford Bostic Triple Community Renamed Cherry Mountain FD 1972 1975   Triple Community FD was renamed from Rutherford County Fire Patrol on Sep. 5, 1972. TCFD was renamed Cherry Mountain FD with filing recorded on Oct. 10, 1975. Source: SOS.
Sampson Clinton Hall's School District Renamed Halls FD 1962 1980   Hall's School District FD incorporation filing recorded Dec. 27, 1962, and name change filing recorded as Halls FD on Apr. 10, 1980. Source: SOS.
Sampson Newton Grove Vann   By 1972 79-82   Vann FD appears in at least two DOI directories (1972, 1979). Alternate name for Vann Crossroads Fire Department, incorporated in 1971?
Scotland Laurinburg Laurinburg-Maxton Air Base Disbanded 1940s 72-79 Military Laurinburg-Maxton Army Air Field operated during World War II. Laurinburg-Maxton Air Base FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1972). Apparatus included a 1944 Kenworth/Mack Class 155 (508632) and a 1943 Ford/American LaFrance Class 500 500/150 (505638). Source: TH.
Scotland Laurinburg South Scotland Renamed Stewartsville FD 1977 1978   South Scotland FD incorporation filing recorded Dec. 22, 1977, and renamed Stewartsville FD with filing recorded on June 9, 1978. Source: SOS.
Scotland Roseboro Roseboro   1975 2013   Incorporated October 22, 1975. Filed for disillusion March 10, 2013. Source: SOS.
Scotland Wagram Wagram   By 1972 79-82   Wagram FD appears in at least two DOI directories (1972, 1979). No SOS data.
Scotland Laurel Hill West Scotland Renamed Laurel Hill FD 1967 1991   West Scotland FD incorporation filing recorded Sep. 8, 1967, and renamed Laurel Hill FD with filing recorded on July 16, 1991. Source: SOS.
Stanly Norwood Ca-Vel   By 1947 > 1947 Industrial The Collins & Aikman textile plant fire brigade in Norwood operated a 1947 General Motors/Oren pumper, #500 A-979. The apparatus was delivered new. See blog post.
Stanly Oakboro Big Lick District name for Oakboro Rural FD By 1967 82-87   Big Lick FD appears in NCSFA rosters from 1967 to 1981, and in at least two DOI directories (1979, 1982). Oakboro Rural FD appears as Oakboro Rural (Big Lick) in NCSFA rosters in 1983 and 1984. No SOS data.
Stanly Locust Locust Merged into West Stanly FD 1956 2008   Locust FD incorporation filing recorded Jan. 27, 1956, and merged with Rocky River FD into West Stanly FD on June 13, 2008. Source: DOI, SOS.
Stanly Norwood Norwood Rural Renamed Center Rural FD 1957 1975   Norwood Rural FD incorporation filing recorded Oct. 23, 1957 and renamed Center Rural FD on Apr. 1, 1997. Source: SOS.
Stanly Oakboro Oakboro Rural Merged with Oakboro FD 1958 1999   Oakboro Rural FD incorporation filing recorded Feb. 10, 1958, and merged with Oakboro FD on Nov. 2, 1999. Source: OH, SOS.
Stanly Stanfield Rocky River Merged into West Stanly FD 1973 2008   Rocky River FD incorporation filing recorded Apr. 17, 1973, and merged with Locust FD into West Stanly FD on June 24, 2008. Source: OH, SOS.
Stokes Pine Hall Pine Hall   By 1972 72-79   Pine Hall FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1972). PHFD does not appear in NCSFA rosters. No SOS data.
Stokes King Stokes County Dissolved 2001 2006   Stokes County FD incorporation filing recorded June 29, 2001, and disillusion filing recorded Aug. 3, 2006. Source: SOS.
Surry Dobson Surry Central District/alt. for Central Surry FD? By 1972 79-82   Surry Central FD appears in at least two DOI directories (1972, 1979). SCFD does not appear in NCSFA rosters. No SOS data.
Surry Pilot Mountain Pilot Mountain   By 1939 > 1995   Pilot Mountain FD appears in NCSFA rosters (1939 to 1995) and at least two DOI directories (1979, 1982). No SOS data.
Transylvania Brevard Connestee Falls Renamed Connestee FD 1976 1999   Connestee Falls FD incorporation filing recorded July 1, 1976, and renamed Connestee FD on Dec. 13, 1999. Source: SOS.
Transylvania Brevard E. I. Dupont   By 1972 82-87   E. I. Dupont FD appears in at least three DOI directories (1972, 1979, 1982). Industrial fire department?
Transylvania Pisgah Forest Olin-Mathieson   By 1972 79-82   Olin-Mathieson FD appears in at least two DOI directories (1972, 1979). Industrial fire department?
Tyrell Columbia Columbia Alternate name for Tyrell VFD station in Columba. By 1974 82-87   Columbia FD appears in at least two DOI directories (1979, 1982). CFD appears in NCSFA rosters (1974 to 1983), with Dennis Swain as Fire Chief. The NCSFA listing for 1984 and subsequent years is lised as Columbia / Tyrell County. Source: OH.
Tyrell Columbia Gum Neck Alternate name for Tyrell VFD station in Gum Neck. By 1972 82-87   Gum Neck FD appears in at least three DOI directories (1972, 1979, 1982). GNFD appears NCSFA directories (1981, 1982), with Dennis Swain as Fire Chief. Source: OH.
Union Wingate? Ames Merged into Wingate FD? By 1968 > 1983   Ames FD appears in NCSFA rosters (1969 to 1983). The 1983 listing is Ames (Wingate). AFD does not appear in DOI directories of 1972, 1979, or 1982. No SOS data.
Union Monroe Benton Heights   By 1930 > 1945   Benton Heights FD appears in NCSFA rosters from 1936 to 1945. In 1930, BHFD was fully motorized, with a Chief, Asst. Chief, and 18 volunteer men. They had a Ford truck with 1500-feet 2 1/2 hose and a fire alarm sounded by electric siren on post near 1042 Charlotte Ave. The fire station was a one-story building on the south side of Walnut (Street?), just east of the split of Concord and Charlotte avenues. By Mar. 1947, the fire department and fire station was no longer listed on insurance maps. Source: Sanborn Maps.
Union   Camp Sutton   1940s 1940s Military Apparatus included two 1942 Ford/Ben Hur Class 500 500/150 pumpers (501506, 501507), 1942 Ford/Darley Class 525 500/150 (503324). Source: TH.
Union Marshville Marshville Renamed Beaver Lane FD 1966 1975   Marshville FD incorporation filing recorded Sept. 9, 1966, and renamed Beaver Lane FD on Jan. 22, 1975. Source: SOS.
Vance   Kerr Lake Merged with Vance County FD 2007 2010   Kerr Lake FD incorporation filing recorded March 12, 2007. The department began acquiring equipment and training for its members over a two-year period. They were certified as a fire department by NC OSFM in May 2009, and began receiving Vance County funding in June 2009. In May 2010, the county approved a merger of the KLFD into VCFD. Effective, July 1, 2010, the district was merged with the Vance County FD district. All assets were transferred, including four operation emergency vehicles (including a 1987 Pierce Arrow 55-foot telesquirt, former Marine Corps; 1981 Mack/Darley 3,000 gallon pumper/tanker, former Durham Highway in Wake County), a generator trailer, and the fire station at 5021 Satterwhite Point Road in Henderson. The facility was placed in service VCFD Station 7. At the time of the merger, KLFD had $235,000 in debt. The fire department's non-profit organization was renamed Kerr Lake Volunteer Firemen's Association, and the members continue to be associated with VCFD Station 7. Source: OH, Legeros Blog.
Wake Apex Apex Rural Merged with Apex FD 1952 2002   The first fire department in Apex was organized in 1927. The first Fire Chief was J. L. Castleberry. An American LaFrance pumper was purchased, and part of the Municipal Building was converted into a fire station. By the late 1930s, participation in the fire department had waned. The town pumper was pulled to fires by a Clark Chevrolet Company wrecker. In 1939, a new fire department was chartered. They converted a dump truck into a fire engine, and occupied the fire station at the town hall. In 1958, the fire district was split into a town and a rural district, with separate Asst. Chiefs assigned to each. Separate departments developed, but housed in the same station. In 2002, the fire departments were merged. The town absorbed all VFD assets and assumed all debts. The town also agreed to keep the VFD station open for at least ten years. Source: MJL page
Wake Raleigh Dix Hill State Hospital By 1895 Before 1926 Hospital Protected the North Carolina Insane Asylum. Newspaper article in 1895 cited: "At the North Carolina Insane Asylum, two new houses are being built for the hose reels that belong to the Asylum fire department. One is in [the] rear of each wing of the building, for immediate use in case of fire. The buildings are ten feet by fifteen feet, two stories high. Some of the employees of the institution will sleep in these houses at night, so that they may be ready for service as soon as the alarm is given." Sanborn Maps of 1914 list two hose reels stored in two locations, about 2,000 feet of 2 1/2-inch hose, and a water system with a 1,000 GPM pump and 450,000-gallon reservoir.
Wake Raleigh Fairgrounds Merged into Western Wake FD 1961 1998   Organized by members of the Western Boulevard Fire Department, the Fairground (later named Fairgrounds) Fire Department protected unincorporated areas west of Raleigh including Blue Ridge Road, Wade Avenue, and Hillsboro Street. Fire apparatus included the 1962 Chevy pumper from WBFD. The fire station was built at 1515 Blue Ridge Road. The First fire chief was B. J. Abbott. In 1992, the fire department moved to 4210 District Drive. In 1998, FFD merged with Yrac and reorganized as Western Wake. They became WWFD Station 1. Source: MJL page
Wake Fuquay-Varina Fuquay-Varina Rural Merged with Fuquay-Varina FD 1954 1999   Fuquay-Varina Rural Fire Department, Inc. The first Fuquay-Varina FD was organized in 1938, and the first Fire Chief was W. Lee Rolland. In 1954, a rural fire department was formed, sponsored by the Farm Bureau of Fuquay-Varina. Their first station was a tin shed in the vicinity of 134 Fuquay Avenue. Their first apparatus was a GMC 4x4 military pumper loaned by Howe. The first FVRFD chief was Tom Bridges. In 1999, the town and rural departments merged. Source: MJL page
Wake Holly Springs Holly Springs Rural Merged with Holly Springs FD 1971 1997   Holly Springs Rural Fire Department was the first modern-era fire department in Holly Springs, though a group of farmers organized a forest firefighting service in 1943. Incorporation filing recorded July 21, 1971, HSRFD was located at 1140 Avent Ferry Road. Their first apparatus was a 1953 GMC tanker, and a 1955 International tanker. In 1995, the town of Holly Springs organized a municipal fire department. The rural department merged into the town department in 1997, and became HSFD Station 1. Source: MJL page
Wake Knightdale Knightdale Rural Renamed Eastern Wake FD 1954 2003   Knightdale Rural Fire Department, the first fire department in the town, was formed in 1953 by community members, after the installation of a municipal water system. Organized with 26 charter members, the first truck was a 1 1/2 ton truck owned by the town and equipped with hose, ladders, and other equipment. The first fire station was constructed in 1956 at 401 Hester Street. The first Fire Chief was Randolph Griffith. Renamed as Eastern Wake. Source: MJL page
Wake Morrisville Morrisville Rural Merged with Morrisville FD 1955     Morrisville Rural Fire Department was the first fire department in Morrisville. Organized in Apr. 1955, it served the communities of Morrisville, Carpenter, Upchurch, Green Level, and the largely rural farming areas of western Wake County. Their first fire station was a tin shed behind the Red and White store on Morrisville-Carpenter Road. The first fire truck was a converted military surplus 6x6. In 1960, a fire station was constructed at 100 Morrisville-Carpenter Road. In 1975, a substation was opened at 6804 Carpenter Road. In later decades, a municipal department was formed that shared the equipment and facilities of MRFD. The rural department was later merged into the town department. Source: MJL page
Wake Raleigh Six Forks Merged with Bay Leaf FD 1956 2002   Originally named Six Forks Road Volunteer Fire Department, they first protected 600 homes in Chestnut Hills, Millbrook, Crestview, Farrior Hills, Northwood, and Belview Terrace. The first station was a converted barn on the south side of Howell's Store on the east side of Six Forks Road just south of Lassiter Mill Road. The first apparatus was a 1956 Ford/American pumper. The station was moved three times, twice on Six Forks Road, and the third location at 1431 Lynn Road. In 2002, the department merged with Bay Leaf FD and became BLFD Station 3. Source: MJL page
Wake Raleigh St. Augustine's School Disbanded 1900s   School St. Augustine's College, founded in 1867, was located just northeast of the city limits. By Aug. 1909 and now named St. Augustine's School, it was connected to the city water system. The school had a fire department with a hose reel and 500 feet of 2 1/2-inch hose, and other equipment. The hose house was attached to the north end of a lumber building, just east of the Lyman Building. By 1914, it had moved to a combination coal and hose house to the north. The fire department had three hand hose carts, one hand ladder truck, and equipment. Source: Sanborn Maps.
Wake Raleigh Western Boulevard Became Fairground FD 1957 1960   Western Boulevard Rural Fire Department Inc. was chartered by ten members of the Western Boulevard Exchange Club. A public meeting was called and all interested citizens were invited. By laws were adopted and directors were elected. Apparatus was obtained, and the first fire station was Pearson's Esso Station at 5201 Western Blvd. The first Fire Chief was J. A. Holleman. On Apr. 1, 1960, the city annexed 600 of the departments 760 members. The board later voted to disband. Some equipment was designed as Civil Defense surplus and was later transferred to the new Swift Creek FD. On Feb. 23, 1961, the department reorganized as the Fairground FD. Source: MJL page
Wake Wake Forest Wake Forest #2 Merged with Wake Forest FD c1942 1979   Wake Forest Fire Department #2 was formed after May 7, 1942, after the Town Board appointed a committee to investigate "advisability of encouraging the formation of a Colored Volunteer Fire Company." The fire station was (later?) located on Taylor Street. WFFD #2 merged with WFFD around February 1982. The following year, the town and rural fire departments merged. Source: MJL
Wake Wake Forest Wake Forest Rural Merged with Wake Forest FD 1956 1983   The first fire department in Wake Forest was organized in 1921, after the appointment of Thomas M. Arrington Sr. as Fire Chief. The rural fire department was organized in 1956. The first fire truck was a 1942 Chevy pumper. The first Fire Chief was Willis H. Winston. The fire district was named Wakette. WFRFD moved to 352 S. White Street in 1966. The rural and town departments merged on July 1, 1983. The fire districts were merged, and a merged department was chartered. The town became the first in the state to contract fire protection to another agency. Source: MJL page
Wake Wendell Wendell-Holmes Renamed Wendell FD 1957 1967   Wendell Holmes Rural Fire Department incorporation filing recorded Mar. 4, 1957. The name change filing as Wendell Rural Fire Department was recorded Jan. 25, 1967. Source: SOS.
Wake Wendell Wendell (Municipal) Merged with Wendell Rural FD By 1912 1980s   The Wendell Fire Department was organized between 1908 and 1912. A separate rural fire department was formed in 1957. In the mid-1980s, the municipal department merged into the rural department. Source: MJL page
Wake Cary Yrac Merged into Western Wake FD 1961 1998   Cary Rural Fire Department, Inc., was charted on Dec. 1, 1961. They were organized to provide protection to unincorporated areas outside the town of Cary, which the Cary FD had previously protected. Charter members included former volunteer CFD members. The first fire station was a rented garage behind Cricket's Service Station at the corner of Cedar and Ward Streets. The first Fire Chief was Jackie Hunter. In 1962, the department changed its name to Yrac, or Cary spelled backwards. In 1966, they moved to 325 E. Durham Road. In 1998, they merged with Fairgrounds FD and reorganized as Western Wake FD. They became WWFD Station 2, which operated until closing on July 1, 2007. Source: MJL page
Wake Zebulon Zebulon Rural Merged with Zebulon FD 1953 2000   Zebulon Rural Fire Department Inc. was charted on Feb. 2, 1953. The first fire department in Zebulon was organized in 1921, after installation of a water system. The rural department was organized in 1953 as a project sponsored by the Zebulon Farm Bureau. The first fire truck was a 1953 International pumper. The fire district was named Wakelon. The rural department was housed with the municipal department in the town fire station, and continued to share the same structure until it merged with the municipal fire department in 2000. Articles disillusion were filed on Feb. 17, 2000, and were effective Feb. 29, 2000. Sources: MJL page, SOS.
Warren Norlina Norlina (Municipal)   By 1979 82-87   Norlina Municipal FD appears in at least two DOI directories (1979, 1982). NFD does not appear in NCSFA rosters. No SOS data.
Warren Norlina Smith Creek   79-82 82-87   Smith Creek FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982). SCFD does not appear in NCSFA rosters. No SOS data.
Warren Warrenton Warrenton (Municipal) Disbanded 1896 2004   The Warrenton Fire Department originated as a company of black volunteer firemen who formed a bucket company in 1869. They were one of the state's earliest black fire companies. Over the decades and centuries, they served with hand, horse-, and motorized apparatus. Warrenton's municipal fire department retired on July 1, 2004, with one station, one engine, and 15 volunteers. The town subsequently contracted with Warrenton Rural FD, which was also based in Warrenton. Source: EBFNC, WRFD.
Warren Wise Wise   79-82 82-87   Wise FD appears in at least one DOI directory (1982). WFD does not appear in NCSFA rosters. No SOS data.
Watauga Vilas Northwest Watauga District/alternate name for Beaver Dam FD? By 1981 > 1982   Northwest Watauga FD appears in the DOI directory of June 1982. NCSFA rosters list North West Watauga in 1981, Beaver Dam (Northwest Watauga) in 1982, Beaver Dam & Northwest Watauga in 1983, and Beaver Dam (Northwest Watauga) in 1984. Beaver Dam FD incorporation filing recorded Nov. 1, 1976. Source: SOS.
Wayne La Grange East Wayne Merged with New Hope FD 1962 2014   Incorporated filing recorded April 25, 1962. Articles of merger filing recorded June 30, 2014. Source: SOS.
Wayne Goldsboro Cherry Hospital   by 1924 ? Hospital Cherry Hospital, opened in 1880 two miles west of Goldsboro, was called the State Hospital for the Colored Insane by 1924. It had a fire department that year of nine employees with three hose reels with 600 feet of 2 1/2-inch hose and 800 feet of 2-inch hose. Source: Sanborn. See Legeros blog post.
Wayne Goldsboro Fork Township Renamed Rosewood FD 1959 1988   Fork Township FD incorporation filing recorded Dec. 4, 1959. The name change filing for Rosewood FD was recorded on Jan. 20, 1988. Source: SOS.
Wayne La Grange Hopeville Renamed New Hope FD 1959 1987   Hopeville VFD Inc. was renamed from Volunteer New Hope Fire Fighters Inc., as recorded January 2, 1959. Incorporation of VNHFF was filed on September 4, 1956. Renamed to New Hope VFD of Wayne County as filed on June 30, 1987. Source: SOS.
Wayne Pikeville Pikeville Became Pikeville-Pleasant Grove? By 1955 > 1986   Pikeville FD appears in NCSFA rosters (1955 to 1986) and at least four DOI directories (1972, 1979, 1982, 1987). No SOS data. Became Pikeville-Pleasant Grove?
Wilson Lucama Lucama Merged with Crossroads FD By 1972 > 1987   Lucama FD appears in at least four DOI directories as LFD (1972, 1987) and Lucama Rural FD (1979, 1982). LFD does not appear in NCSFA rosters. No SOS data.
Wilson Stantonsburg Moyton Renamed Stantonsburg-Moyton FD 1980 2003   Moyton VFD Inc. incorporation filing recorded Apr. 22, 1980. Name change filed for Stantonsburg-Moyton VFD recorded on Sep. 23, 2003. Source: SOS.
Wilson Saratoga Saratoga   By 1972 82-87   Saratoga Rural FD appears in at least three DOI directories as SFD (1972) and Saratoga Rural FD (1979, 1982). SFD appears in NCSFA rosters (1977 to 1981). No SOS data.

Abbreviated Sources

Other Sources

More Historical Information

Home

Search Mike Legeros

Copyright 2017 by Michael J. Legeros