04/10/07 589 W - + 11 - 14 Station Closures

Here's a short history of fire station closures in Wake County. Comments, corrections, and additions welcome.

Apex's first fire station in the municipal building at 235 N. Salem Street. It was used from 1927 to 1956, when the station was moved to 210 N. Salem Street.

Bay Leaf's first permanent station at 11617 Six Forks Road opened in 1967 and was moved to 11713 Six Forks Road in 1983.

Cary opened a single-bay fire station beside the Town Hall at 100 W. Street in 1953. It was moved to 100 N. Academy Street in 1965.

Cary's first Station 2 in the 100 block of Cedar Street opened in 1953-54 and closed in the early 1960s.

Durham Highway's first station on Davis Drive opened in 1965, was renamed Station 2 after a second station at 8312 Pinecrest Road opened in 1976, and was finally closed in 1992.

Durham Highway's second Station 1 on Pinecrest Road was renamed Station 2 after a third station opened at 11905 Norwood Road in 1992. The station opened as Raleigh Station 23 in 2000, though Durham Highway continued to house apparatus there.

Fairground's station at 1515 Blue Ridge Road opened in 1961 and moved to 4120 District Drive in 1992.

Fuquay-Varina's municipal building at 131 Fuquay Avenue opened in 1951 and included a single-bay station. It was moved to a combination municipal and rural fire station at 301 South Fuquay Avenue in 1978. The rural fire department also moved from their 1965 station at 128 Fuquay Avenue.

Garner's first permanent station at 110 Pearl Street opened in 1953 and was moved to 503 West Main Street in 1970.

Holly Springs Public Safety's first station at 127 N. Main Street opened in 1995 and moved to 700 Flint Point Lane in 2006.

Raleigh's earlier fire stations are covered here: http://www.legeros.com/history/stations/raleigh/

Rolesville's first permanent station at 106 S. Main Street opened in 1960 and moved to 104 E. Young Street in 1980.

Six Forks Road opened their first permanent station on the east side of Six Forks Road just north of Lassiter Mill Road in the late 1950s or early 1960s. The station was relocated to 5305 Six Forks Road in 1962, and relocated again to 1431 Lynn Road in 1974.

Stony Hill's first permanent station at 7025 Stony Hill Road opened in 1963 and moved to 7038 Stony Hill Road in 2003.

Swift Creek's first permanent station at 6115 Holly Springs Road opened in 1962 and moved to 6000 Holly Springs Road in 1983-84.

Wake Forest's municipal building at the corner of Brooks and Owen Streets opened in 1930 and included a basement fire station. It moved to the 300 block of S. White Street in 1973 and relocated again to a combination municipal and rural station at 430 E. Elm Street in 1988. The rural department also moved to Elm Street from their 1966 station at 352 S. White Street. Wake Forest Fire Department #2 also moved to Elm Street from their station on Taylor Street.

Wendell opened a two-bay fire station on Fourth Street in 1952. It was moved to Hollybrook Road at Fourth Street in 1961, and to a new municipal building at Pine and Fourth Street in 1963. The station was moved to 2960 Wendell Boulevard (present street name and number) in 1984.

Western Boulevard's permanent station was an old "barbecue shed" located at the southeast corner of Western Boulevard and Powell Drive. It was used from 1957 to 1960, when the department was disbanded due to city annexation. The department reformed as Fairgrounds one year later.

Yrac's first fire station was a rented garage at the corner of Cedar and Ward streets. It was used from 1961 to 1966, when it was moved to 325 E. Durham Road.

Zebulon moved their fire department into a new municipal building at 111 E. Vance Street in 1951. The two-bay station was moved next door to a dedicated building at 113 E. Vance Street in 1974.

“Bay Leaf’s first permanent station at 11617 Six Forks Road opened in 1967 and was moved to 11713 Six Forks Road in 1983.” Are you forgetting the former 3-bay main station on Norwood Rd just off of Six Forks Rd? They were in this station when they moved to the new one on Six Forks Rd.

“Durham Highway’s first station on Davis Drive opened in 1965, was renamed Station 2 after a second station at 8312 Pinecrest Road opened in 1976, and was finally closed in 1992.” The station on Pinecrest Rd was known as ‘station 2’ when it was opened and I believed stayed that way until the old station on Davis Drive was closed. That station was ‘station 1’ the whole time I was affiliated there. We kept unit 1 and unit 2 there, with unit 3, 4, and 5 being at the new station.
DJ (Email) - 04/10/07 - 22:23

Bay Leaf’s old station on Norwood Road is actually addressed 11617 Six Forks Road, or so county real estate records say (as I recall).
Legeros - 04/11/07 - 05:34

Oh….I see, said the blind man….
DJ - 04/11/07 - 18:15

Remember personal info?

/ Textile

Comment moderation is enabled on this site. This means that your comment will not be visible on this site until it has been approved by an editor.

To prevent spam we require you to answer this silly question

  (Register your username / Log in)

Hide email:

Small print: All html tags except <b> and <i> will be removed from your comment. You can make links by just typing the url or mail-address.