North Carolina Fire Departments in 1896

Here’s a list of North Carolina fire departments in 1896, as reported by the Statistician of the North Carolina State Firemen’s Association, for the year ending April 1, 1896. This reported was printed in the proceedings for the Eighth Annual Convention Tournament, held in Salisbury, NC, on August 19, 20, 21. 

The printed document–61 pages, plus advertisements–was scanned at Wilson Library at the University of North Carolina. The library has a number of proceedings, from 1896 through 1936, though with missing years. See catalog record. Most of the copies are bound in hardcover collections.

Read the report (PDF 2.0MB)

Listed is information about Asheville, Beaufort, Charlotte, Concord, Durham, Elizabeth City, Enfield, Fayetteville, Goldsboro, Greensboro, Kinston, La Grange, New Bern, Raleigh, Tarboro, Salisbury, Scotland Neck, Statesville, Warrenton, Wilmington, and Winston.

Facebook Comments