Constitution and By-Laws of Fire Fighters Association No. 548 of Raleigh, N.C., 1938

This is a blog archives posting from June 2011. The page is corrupted on the old site, so we’re re-posting here.

And a random artifact for your Monday enjoyment. This is the constitution and by-laws of the original incarnation (PDF) of the Raleigh Professional Fire Fighters Association (web site). Same is scanned from a photocopy of the original booklet.

The organization was chartered in 1938, as Chapter 548 of the International Association of Fire Fighters (IAFF). The original application was dated February 4 and listed 21 charter members. The Temporary President was K. J. Smith and the Temporary Secretary was R. G. Davis.

The association was re-chartered in 1969, with an application dated June 10 of that year. The Temporary President was Ned Perry, the Temporary Vice-President was B. T. Fowler, and the Temporary Secretary and Treasurer was Maylon Frazier. The application included the names of 173 charter members.

They re-chartered a second time in 1986. The March 23 application listed Temporary President James Driver and Temporary Secretary and Treasurer Donnie Perry.

Need more more research and documentation in this area, on the history of professional organizations in the Raleigh Fire Department. Memo to self: do that. Meanwhile, click the cover to read the PDF document: 

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *